Default Thumbnail

PASAHERO calls for end to ‘unfair’ motorcycle-only checkpoints

December 17, 2021 Ryan Ponce Pacpaco 977 views

The PASAHERO Party-list has called for an end to the unfair motorcycle-only police checkpoints, especially at the height of COVID-19 lockdowns.

“These checkpoints notoriously single out motorcycle riders and unfairly discriminate against them,” said PASAHERO spokesperson Atty. Homer Alinsug.

“Why single out motorcycle riders for public safety concerns? That is a big question that many are unable to answer,” Alinsug pointed out.

He said crimes do not just happen on motorcycles, yet motorists of other vehicles are not being subjected to the same rigorous scrutiny at checkpoints.

There have been complaints about discrimination against the two-wheel transport sector at police checkpoints.

While four-wheel vehicles are subjected to mere visual search, motorcyclists are thoroughly subjected to unnecessary physical searches, such as physical removal of U-box contents and verification of documents.

Alinsug said the very existence of motorcycle-only checkpoints discriminates against a group of people—motorcyclists—and is considered profiling and discriminatory in nature.

“Discrimination occurs when a person is unable to enjoy his or her human rights or other legal rights on an equal basis with others because of an unjustified distinction made in policy, law or treatment,” Alinsug said.

If allocated a seat in Congress during the May 2022 party-list elections, Alinsug said PASAHERO will push for a measure that would effectively stop motorcycle-only checkpoints.

“If such bill is passed, then it would be a huge step towards motorcycle equality and would prevent this ultimately discriminatory practice from occurring in the future,” Alinsug said.

PASAHERO, also known as the Passengers and Riders Organization Inc., is a party-list group representing millions of Filipino commuters and passengers. The Commission on Elections recently declared the group as a party-list candidate eligible to participate in the May 2022 general elections.