Mapua, La Salle-Dasma dispute crown

February 16, 2024 People's Tonight 306 views

IT WILL be defending champion Mapua University versus Dela Salle University-Dasmariñas in the final of the 4th Philippine University Basketball League (PUBL) basketball championship at the Philippine Lam An Association Sports Complex in Abad Santos, Manila.

The Cardinals leaned on Sherfranzkhan Abdulla to subdue Asian Institute of Maritime Studies, 91-64, while the Patriots downed New Era University 83-80, to set up a winner-take-all final in this six-team tournament organized by the Philippine University Basketball League (PUBL), headed by Melchor Posadas Divina and Federation of School Sports Athletic Association of the Philippines (FESSAP), headed by Edwin Fabro.

Abdulla joined forces with John Christopher Recto, Jeco Bancale and Clint Escamis in leading the Randy Alcantara- mentored Cardinals to victory against the Blue Sharks.

Abdulla topscored with 22 points, followed by Recto and Bancale with 15 points each and Escamis with 10 points.

Gushtin Guerra and Alexis Himan paced the Blue Sharks with 10 points apiece.

The Patriots leaned on the hot hands of Ronroy Bunda and Gio Santiago in downing the Hunters.

Bunda scattered 21 points with five three pointers while Santiago had 18 points with four three points for the Dasmarinas, Cavite-based school of coach Tito Reyes.

JL Rasonable and Rogelio Calagos contributed 16 and 15 points for La Salle-Dasma.

.Aldrick David finished 17 points, followed by Jared Sevilla with 15 and Kenjie Arca with 14 for New Era University.

The tournament is supported by Philippine Air Lines, Bestank, Healthy Options, Bakers Fair and Kelme Basketball. AA