MPBL Negros Muscovados-Pasay Voyagers game in the MPBL.

Cani shines as Negros trips Pasay

April 12, 2024 Robert Andaya 310 views
Jeremy Cruz finds mark for Negros.

HUBERT Cani delivered the game-winner — a stepback jumper — with 6.8 seconds left to lift Negros to a heart-stopping 86-84 win over Pasay in double overtime in the MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Season 6 at the FilOil EcoOil Centre in San Juan.

Jeremy Cruz also played a pivotal role for Negros as he finished with 22 points, including back-to-back triples that pushed the Muscovados ahead, 82-79.

Cruz also had 11 rebounds, two blocks and two steals for Negros, which debuted with a 73-62 victory over Marikina.

Jefferson Comia added 17 points, James Paul Una contributed 13 points, six rebounds and two blocks, and Mark Atabay had 10 points and seven rebounds.

Lawrence Paul Victoria led Pasay with 23 points, five rebounds, four assists and four steals, followed by Jasper Salenga, Warren Bonifacio and Patrick Sleat with 13 points apiece.

Equally impressivev were Abra, which subdued Marikina, 97-85, and Zamboanga, which demolished Bicol, 97-82, for their second straight victories in theprestigious 30-team tournament.

Mark Tallo scored 11 of his team-high 15 points in the fourth quarter and Prince Caperal and JC Recto added 11 points each for the Weavers of coach Jonathan Banal.

NCAA Season 99 MVP Clint Escamis contributed seven points, nine assists, four rebounds and one steal for Abra, which won over fellow expansion Pangasinan, 93-75, in the inaugurals last April 6,

Marikina, which dropped to 0-2, got 19 points from Eric Pili, 18 from Eloie Tan amd 13 from RR Casajeros.

Former MVP Jaycee Marcelino posted a career-high 31 points, eight steals, four rebounds and three assists in Zamboanga”s second straight win.

Renzo Subido added 13 points while Jayvee, the other half of the Marcelino twins, contributed 11 points for Zamboanga coach Louis Alas.

The MPBL goes to the Wes Arena in Valenzuela with another triple-bill pitting Mindoro against Sarangani at 4 p.m., Bataan against Bacolod at 6 p.m., and Pangasinan against Valenzuela at 8 p.m.