Three-peat for Pasig Pirates

April 30, 2023 Ed Andaya 730 views

PASIG Pirates completed their date with destiny by winning their third straight title in the Professional Chess Association of the Philippines (PCAP).

And like in their first two title triumphs, the Pirates did it by beating the best and the brightest team in the South, Davao Eagles.

Pasig brought down Davao, 11.5-9.5 and 11.5-9.5, in their two-game title showdown to capture the overall championship and become the first three-time winner in this prestigious competition sponsored by San Miguel Corporation, Ayala Land and PCWorx.

More importantly, the triumph came exactly three months before the 450th founding anniversary celebrations of Pasig City on July 2.

The Mayor Vico Sotto-supported Pirates also bagged the PCAP Season 2 Second Conference crown against Iloilo Kisela Knights,12.5-8.5 and 5.5-15.5 and 2-1 in Armageddon last August 2022;and the PCAP Season 2 Third Conference against the Negros Kingsmen, 10-11, 11-10 and 2-1, in Armageddon last December 2022.

“We’re very happy to win the title again. The boys deserved it,” said Pasig Pirates coach Franco Camillo, recalling the team’s hard work and sacrifices to get better.

“We hope to win more chess titles in the future under Mayor Vico,” he added.

Leading the way for Pasig was United States-based GM Mark Paragua, who defeated FM Sander Severino, 2-1, in the first match, and NM Dale Bernardo, 2-1, in the second match.

IM Idel Datu also won over Severino, 2-1, and drew with Bernardo, 1.5-1.5.

Also winning their matches for Pasig were WGM Rowelyn Joy Acedo, who swept WNM Jean Karen Enriquez, 3-0, in the female board; and IM Cris Ramayrat, who bested IM Alex Lupian, 2-1, in the senior board.

In the battte for third place, former champion Laguna Heroes trounced Negros Kingsmen, 14-7.

GM Rogelio Barcenilla, IM Daniel Quizon and WFM Shania Mae Mendoza led the charge of the Heroes of Dr. Fred Paez.

PCAP, the country’s first and only professional chess league, is organized by Atty. Paul Elauria as president and Michael Angelo Chua as chairman.

The prestigious 20-team, two-division tournament is sanctioned by the Games and Amusements Board (GAB), headed by Chairman Atty. Richard Clarin, and supported by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP), led by Chairman/ President Prospero “Butch” Pichay.