Bayangat Arjie Bayangat of Santa Rosa City, Laguna receives his trophy and cash prize from Philippine Executive Chess Association (PECA) president Dr. Fred Paez after winning the 2022 National Executive Chess Championship at Robinsons Magnolia.

Laguna chesser tops PECA tilt at Robinsons

September 20, 2022 Ed Andaya 701 views

UNHERALDED Arjie Bayangat of Accenture, Inc. emerged as the champion in the 2022 National Executive Chess Championship-NCR Leg held at the Robinsons Place Magnolia in Quezon City over the weekend.

Bayangat, a member of 2021 PCAP All-Filipino champion Laguna Heroes, finished with five points on five wins and one loss to clinch the title in the six-round, FIDE-rated competition organized by Philippine Executive Chess Association (PECA) president Dr. Fred Paez.

The 39-year-old Bayangat actually finished in a three-way tie for the top spot with FM Efren Bagamasbad and John Ernie Maraan with five pointd, but earned the title by virtue of higher tiebreak score.

Bagamasbad settled for runner-up honor, while Maraan took third place.

Completing the top five finishers in this one-day tournament which attracted 34 participants were Freddie Talaboc and Engr. Mark Oliver Ingcad, who finished fourth and fifth with 4.5 points.

Danilo Tiempo Jr. of Quezon City, lawyer Cliburn Anthony Orbe of Pagadian City, IT expert Joselito Cada of Lucban, Quezon, ship captain Doroteo Whigan Jr. of Tanauan City, Batangas, and Victor Anas rounded up the Top 10.

The event is supported by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP), headed by Chairman/President Prospero “Butch” Pichay.

Cada took the Top Senior award, Whigan was the Top Unrated, Joselito Asi was the Top 1900 and below winner and Joshua Juaneza was the Top 1800 and below winner.

Bayangat won over Constantino Villanueva Jr. in the first round, Joselito Asi in the second round, Roberto Racasa in the fourth round, Orbe in the fifth round and Talaboc in the sixth round.

His lone setback came at the hands of Bagamasbad in the third round.

Final standings:

5 points — A. Bayangat, E. Bagamasbad, J. Maraan.
4.5 — F. Talaboc, M. Ingcad.
4 — D. Tiempo, C. Orbe, J. Cada, D.Whigan.
3.5 — V. Anas, J. Asi, J. Querubin, A. Loanzon, M. Galicia, J. Obogne.