Default Thumbnail

Romualdez, VP Sara keep top Lakas-CMD posts

February 5, 2023 Jester P. Manalastas 294 views

THE Lakas Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD) has elected its new national officers and members of the executive committee and national advisory council.

The party has approved Resolution No. 1, series of 2023, ro which Speaker Martin G. Romualdez and Vice President Sara Duterte will be retaining the positions of president and chairperson, respectively.

Also elected were former President-turned Senior Deputy Speaker Gloria Macapagal Arroyo of Pampanga as chairperson emeritus, former Speaker Jose de Venecia Jr. as co-chairperson emeritus, Sen. Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. as co-chairperson, Capiz Gov. Fredenil Castro as vice chairperson, and House Majority Leader and Zamboanga City Rep. Manuel Jose “Mannix” M. Dalipe as executive vice president.

The other officers are Rep. Jose Aquino ll of Agusan del Norte, secretary general; Rep. Samantha Santos of North Cotabato, deputy secretary general; Rep David “jayjay” Suarez of Quezon, treasurer; and others.

The new were chosen as members of the national executive committee.

According to Romualdez, the installation of the new Lakas-CMD leaders “will strengthen and reinvigorate our party in support of the administration of President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. and his Agenda for Prosperity and socio-economic roadmap.”

“We hope to further grow our membership with new recruits who share our ideals, programs and goals, and aspirations for our people and our nation,” he said.

Lakas-CMD now counts 68 representatives as members, aside from hundreds of governors, city and town mayors, provincial board and city and municipal council members, and other local officials.

Meanwhile, the party formed a national advisory council “to support the executive committee.”

Composing the council are former representatives Juan Miguel Arroyo, Diosdado Ignacio Arroyo, Lourdes Arroyo, Prospero Pichay Jr. Wilter Wee Palma, Aleta Suarez, Hector Sanchez, Paz Radaza, Leonardo Babasa Jr., Anthony Peter Crisologo, Mari Grace Preciosa Castelo, and Sandra Eriguel.

Former executive secretary Eduardo Ermita, former secretaries Gabriel Claudio and Nasser Pangandaman Sr., and Agriculture Undersecretary Zamzamin Pamintuan also sit in the advisory council.