Pasig, San Juan lead opening-day PCAP winners

February 20, 2023 Ed Andaya 376 views

TWO-TIME champion Pasig Pirates launched their bid for an unprecedented third straight title in style, beating newcomer Mandaluyong Tigers, 10.5-10.5, 2-1 in Armageddon, in the 2023 PCAP All-Filipino Conference chess team championships over the weekend.

FM Nelson Mariano III and Kevn Arquero provided the victories for the Pirates of Pasig Mayor Vico Sotto and coach Franco Camillo by beating Narciso Gumila and FM Giovanni Mejia in two of three playoff matches.

GM Darwin Laylo was the lone winner for Mandaluyong as he toppled GM Mark Paragua on board one.

The Pirates, who topped the last two conferences, and the Tigers, who joined the tournament only this year, battled to 10.5-10.5 standoff in regular play.

Pasig took the blitz competition, 4.5-2.5, with Arquero, WIM Sherily Cua, IM Eric Labog and Jerome Villanueva winning their respective matches.

Arquero outplayed Paul Sanchez, Cua defeated WFM Cherry Ann Mejia, Labog downed NM Michael Gotel and Villanueva outwitted Mejia.

Laylo halved the point with Mariano on board one.

5he Tigers, however, struck back in rapid play, 8-6, with Laylo, Gumila and Rolando Yutuc beating Mariano, IM Ildefonso Datu and IM Cris Ramayrat, respectively.

Equally impressive were defending champion San Juan Predators, who outclassed Quezon City Simba’s Tribe, 18-3; and inaugural PCAP All-Filipino titlist Laguna Heroes, who bested Rizal Towers, 13.5-7.5, in the Northern Division; Negros Kingsmen, who whipped Cebu Machers, 20-1; and Iloilo Kisela Knights, who humbled Mindoro Tamaraws, 19-2, in the Southern Division.

San Juan leaned on new recruit Karl Victor Ochoa, IM Jan Emmanuel Garcia, WIM Jan Jodilyn Fronda and IM Ricardo de Guzman to roll back Quezon City.

Ochoa demolished Marlon Bernardino, Garcia clobbered Savimin de los Santos and De Guzman overwhelmed Danoilo Ponay, all by 3-0 scores.

Fronda nipped Michaela Concio, 2-1.

Laguna rode on victories by WNM Jerlyn Mae San Diego over Kelly Ann David Salcedo, 3-0; AGM Kimuel Aaron Lorenzo over John Paul Aquino, 3-0; and Vince Angelo Medina over Jerome Anore, 3-0, to beat Rizal.

NM Elias Lao and Walt Talan defeated IM Angelo Young and NM Nicomedes Alisangco, respectively, for Rizal’s two victories.

Over at the Southern Division, Negros welcomed the entry of GM Rogelio Antonio, Jr. to the team with a near-shutout victory over Cebu.

Antonio, who played for Iloilo in the first two years of the league, humbled Lincoln Yap, 3-0, in the senior board for the Kingsmen.

Also winning for Negros were FM David Elorta, who beat Marian Calimbo, 3-0; WIM Bernadette Galas, who crushed Judy Ann Mesias, 3-0; IM Joel Pimentel,who outplayed Aldwin Daculan, 3-0; and FM Mari Joseph Turqueza, who crushed Allan Cantonjos, 2.5-.5.

Iloilo struck on victories by Jovelyn Sepanton, Fiona Guirhem, and NM Cesar Mariano to subdue Mindoro in another lopsided contest.

IM Julius Joseph de Ramos defeated Mark Jossel Mariano and Ronald Berdera downed Horizon Villanueva for Mindoro’s two victories.

In other first round results, Cavite Spartans upset Manila Indios Bravos, 13-8; Cagayan Kings overpowered Isabela Knights of Alexander, 16-5, in the Northern Division; and Davao Eagles stopped Zamboanga Sultans. 15-6; Toledo City Trojans waylaid Tacloban Vikings, 18.5-2.5; and Camarines Eagles edged Surigao Fianchetto Checkmates, 11-10.

PCAP, the country’s first and only play-for-pay chess league, is headed by President-Cimmissioner Atty. Paul Elauria and Chairman Michael Angelo Chua; and sponsored by San Miguel Corporation, Ayala Land and PCWorx.

The tournament is sanctioned by the Games and Amusements Board (GAB). under Chairman Atty. Richard Clarin, and supported by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP), led by President/ Chairman Prospero “Butch” Pichay.