Manila chessers take charge

April 5, 2024 Ed Andaya 286 views

MANILA Load Mana Knights made it five wins in a row by beating Olongapo Raibow, 18-3, in the fourth round and defending champion Pasig Pirates, 11.5-9.5, in the fifth round in the 2024 PCAP All-Filipino Conference last Wednesday.

Led by IMs Paulo Bersamina and Jan Emmanuel Garcia, Manila completed back-to-back victories over Olongapo and Pasig to assume the solo lead in the prestigious competition orgazned by the Professional Chess Association of the Philippines and sponsored by San Miguel Corporation, Ayala Land and PCWorx.

Bersamina swept Rustum Tolentino, while Garcia blanked Gil Conrad Corre to power the Load Manna Knights’impressive victory.

The Manila-Pasig match was a lot tighter — and exciting.

Bersamina edged GM Mark Paragua, 2-1; Ryan Dungca upset IM Idel Datu, 2-1; Garcia demolished Mark Kevin Labog, 3-0; and Daryl Samantila outsteadied Jerome Villanueva, 2-0, for Manila’s victory.

Sherily Cua provided the lone bright spot for Pasig as she outclassed Arvie Lozano,. 3-0.

Eric Labog of Pasig also wonover Arji Cantonjos, 2-1, on board five.

The senior match between IM Chito Garma and IM Cris Ramayrat ended in a 1.5-1.5 draw.

Earlier, Manila defeated Quezon City Simba’s Tribe, 13.5-7.5, in the first round, Cagayan Kings, 19-2, in the second round and Rizal Towers, 17.5-3.5, in the third round.

Pasig defeated Isabela Knights of Alexander, 14-7, in the fourth round with Cua, Ramayrat and Labog providing the victories.

Marc Nazario shocked Paragua, 3-0, and Joel Banawa upset Datu, 2.5-.5, for Isabela’s victories in the first two boards.

PCAP, the country’s first and only professional chess league, is headed by President-Commissioner Atty. Paul Elauria and Chairman Michael Angelo Chua, and sanctioned by the Games and Amusements Board (GAB), led by Chairnan Atty. Richard Clarin.


Northern Conference
Manila 5-0; Cavite 3-1, San Juan 3-1;
Isabela 3-2; Pasig 2-2, Cagayan 2-2; Quezon City 1-3; Rizal 1-4; Olongapo 0-5.

Southern Conference
Camarines 4-0; Toledo 3-1, Iloilo 3-1; Davao 3-2, Tacloban 3-2; Surigao 2-3, Negros 2-3; Iriga 0-4, Mindoro 0-4.