Metro mayors top performance surveys

June 8, 2021 People's Tonight 337 views

THE mayors of Quezon City, Pasig and San Juan scored the highest approval ratings among Metro Manila local chief executives for their overall performance and re-election preferences in the recently concluded NCR Mayor: Pulso ng Bayan 2022 survey.

According to the results of the independent, non-commissioned survey conducted by RP-Mission and Development Foundation Inc. (RPMDinc) from May 20-30, 2021, Quezon City Mayor Josefina “Joy” Belmonte obtained an approval rating of 38% against four possible opponents while Pasig City Mayor Victor Ma. Regis ‘Vico’ Sotto garnered a weighty preference of 67% against his possible one-on-one scenario match with former Mayor Robert “Bobby” Eusebio with 28% and San Juan City Mayor Francisco ‘Francis’ Zamora got 48% result while former contender in a close fight last 2019 Janella Ejercito Estrada received a 30% rating.

Since Manila Mayor Francisco ‘Isko’ Moreno Domagoso will vie for a higher office, incumbent Vice Mayor Maria Sheilah “Honey” Honrado Lacuna, an ally of Isko got 46% mark against incumbent Congressman Manny Lopez with 33%.

Results in Caloocan revealed that non-re-electionist Mayor Oscar “Oca” Malapitan who impelled his son Congressman Dale “Along” Malapitan to run for mayor obtained a 53% result and will be up against Congressman Edgar “Egay” Erice who got 36%.

While in Parañaque City, outgoing Mayor Edwin Olivarez’s brother Eric Olivarez who is currently Congressman will run as the next Mayor achieved a 35% result against former Congressman Gustavo “Gus” Tambunting who received a 50% rating.

For mayoralty race in Muntinlupa City, Congressman Rozzano “Ruffy” Biazon got 57% result against 23% of former Mayor Aldrin San Pedro.

Last termer Mayor Rexlon Gatchalian of Valenzuela City will run as Congressman in the first district while another Gatchalian will seek the mayoralty position unopposed.

During the survey period, the re-electionist mayors – Hon. Carmelita ‘Menchie’ Abalos of Mandaluyong City, Hon. Lino Cayetano of Taguig, Hon. Mar-len Abigail ‘Abby’ Binay of Makati City, Hon. Imelda ‘Emi’ Calixto of Pasay City, Hon. Tobias ‘Toby’ Tiangco of Navotas City, Hon. Imelda ‘Mel’ Aguilar of Las Pinas and Hon. Miguel ‘Ike’ Ponce III of Pateros are perceived to have no contenders.

According to Dr. Paul Martinez of the RP-Mission and Development Foundation Inc. (RPMDinc), the survey was conducted through face-to-face interviews with 5,000 respondents from eight (8) cities, with Quezon City as the highest number of respondents (1,500), who were asked with a direct question and presented with a list of possible candidates as to who will be their preferred choice as the 2022 Mayor.