Kazan Universiade veteran to lead Davao

September 10, 2021 Ed Andaya 891 views

KAZAN Universiade veteran Mary Palero-Segarra will banner the Davao Eagles in the 2021 Professional Chess Association of the Philippines (PCAP) San Miguel Corporation-Ayala Land chess championships which starts Sept. 15.

Palero-Segarra, who is best remembered for representing the country in the 2013 Kazan Universiade along with GM Wesley So, is expected to carry the fight for the Davao-based team composed of professionals and executives under playing coach James Infiesto.

“I’m very happy to get this opportunity to play and represent Davao City in the PCAP again,” said Palero-Segarra, whose campaign in the Kazan Universiade was supported by the Federation of School Sports Associations of the Philippines (FESSAP).

The 29-year-old marketing management graduate of the Holy Cross College of Davao rose to prominence by winning the Davao leg of the Shell National Youth Active chess championships in 2012.

Joining Palero-Segarra and Infiesto in the Davao team are NM Alex Lupian, Engr. Aglipay Oberio, Engr. Allan Diez, Atty. Dionisio “Jong” Guevarra, Christopher Yap, Giovanni Pimentel, Glen Paclar, Reynaldo De Guzman and Ella Grace Moulic.

Davao is one of three local guest teams invited to play in the season-ending third conference of PCAP, the country’s first professional chess league.

The other two guest teams are the Philippine Peralympics chess team, headed by IPCA world chess champion Sander Severino and AGM Henry Lopez; and the Pampanga Checkers junior team, bannered by World Cadets and Youth Rapid Chess Championships campaigner April Joy Claros and two NMs — Lexie Hernandez of Angeles City and Oshrie James Reyes of Sta. Rita.

“We have invited the three local guest teams, as well as the four foreign teams, to participate in PCAP as part of our efforts to help promote chess,” said PCAP founding president-commissioner Atty. Paul Elauria.

“These teams will play starting in the second phase, where they will be joined by the to eight qualifiers in the North and South Divisions,” added Elauria.

Leading the participants are PCAP All-Filipino Cup champion Laguna Heroes and runner-up Camarines Soaring Eagles; and PCAP-GM Wesley So Cup champion Iloilo Kisela Knights and runner-up San Juan Predators.

Also seeing action are Manila Indios Bravos, Caloocan Load Manna Knights, Rizal Towers, Pasig Pirates, Isabela Knight Raiders, Cavite Spartans, Cagayan Kings, and Olongapo Rainbow in the North; and Cordova Dagami Warriors, Negros Kingsmen, Toledo Trojans, Surigao Fianchetto Checkmates, Lapu-Lapu Naki Warriors, Mindoro Tamaraws, Palawan Queen’s Gambits, Cebu City Machers and Iriga Oragons.

Three member-teams — Antipolo Cobras, Quezon City Simba’s Tribe and Zamboanga Sultans — took a leave of absence in the third conference.

PCAP is headed by Elauria, Chairman Michael Angelo Chua and Vice Chairman Ariel Potot.

The tournament is sanctioned by the Games and Amusements Board (GAB), headed by Chairman Abraham “Baham” Mitra.