Oliver Golf champion Yuka Saso with Junior Golf Foundation of the Philippines (JGFP) president Oliver Gan.

JGFP tilt in Davao draws big cast

January 5, 2023 Ed Andaya 435 views

ALL roads lead to the Apo Golf and Country Club in Davao City with the staging of the 2023 Junior Golf Foundation of the Philippines (JGFP) golf championship on Jan 5-8.

More than 100 players, including 40 from Davao City, are expected to partcipate in the prestigious, four-day competition organized by JGFP president Oliver Gan and sponsored by Gaisano Malls, Britanika Golf Club, Apo Golf and Country Club, and Islandwide Corp.

Divided into 14 boys’ and girls’ divisions, the organizing JGFP has decided to reserve the first two days for players 12 years old and below.

Players aged 13 to 18 will play in the last two days.

Aside from 40 players in Davao alone, the tournament also drew entries from Cagayan de Oro, Iligan, South Cotabato, Zamboanga, and Metro Manila.

Gan said the JGFP has waived the entry fees of 24 dependents of caddies, club employees, and teaching pros

Gan said he is pleased with the huge turnout, the biggest so far since his assumption to office.

“This is historic. This is a real grassroots program,”said JGFP chairman Tommy Manotoc who is also overseeing the ongoing golf clinics at the Edwin Andrews Air Base golf course in Zamboanga City.

Philippine Masters champion Jerson Balasabas is currently holding weekend clinics for junior golfers in Zamboanga.

Manotoc earlier received a donation of golf sets from American Larry Puckett, a long-time Baguio resident who used to be a caddie at Camp John Hay Golf Club.

Puckett said he hopes that his donation will go a long way in improving their games.

Puckett is a graduate of the San Diego Golf Academy.

The list of participants:

Girls’ 6-and-below — Stephanie Gan, Soleil Lanne Molde, Samantha Ibarra.

Girls’ 7-8 — Eliana Mendoza, Rafella Adrienne Batican, Jaimie Salazar, Athena Batican, Kylie Cebrian, Atasha Elize Naranjo, Merryl Angel Salvador.

Girls’ 9-10 – Adrianna Rancines, Arianna Coleen Ang, Althea Setter Villaber, Brittany Pauline Tamayo, Jay Molde Solana, Gia Bullecer, Kim Baroquillo.

Girls’ 11-12 – Izabella Rancines, Johanna Uyking, Nicole Gan, Lisa Sarines, Mona Sarines, Aki Wacan, Isabella Tabanas, Sophia Hillary Bulado, Mary Rose Wacan.

Girls’ 13-14 – Zero Plete, Mikela Venice Guillermo, Julienne Mabale.

Girls’ 15-16 – Bethena Dion Bulado, Velinda Castil, Cristi Therese Minoza, Aisha Fanlo.

Girls’ 17-18 – Princess Mae Babia, Anci Galicia, Liana Pondias.

Boys’ 6-and-below – Joaquin Andres Perez, Ethan Tiancolago, Lucas de Guzman, Sooreen Lee, Aison Bagares

Boys’ 7-8 — James Benedict Rolida, Rory Isiah Bisera, Shiloh Plete, Stephen Travis Ausin, Joseph Adrian Tangtatco, Alonzo Rutuerto.

Boys’ 9-10 – Mico Deltheo Woo, Jared Saban, Laurence Saban, Steve William Ibarra, Ken Eduard Guillermo, Vito Sarines, Gio Pasquil, Prince Earljohn Bisera, Ralph Rian Batican.

Boys’ 11-12 – Jacob Gomez, Blademher Estologa, David James Teves, Earl Aladin, Santi Rabat, Jack Daniel Nagayo, Heaven Ababa, John Miggy Orfila, George Wacan, Chiz John Wacan, John Carl Fiel.

Boys’ 13-14 – Felix Saludar, Akio Lee, Clement Ordeneza, Alexis Gabriel Nailga, AJ Wacan, Kirt Wacan, Javier Santos, Cody John Langamin, Gabriel Rosal, Jon Jakim Ortega, Vince Naranjo.

Boys’ 15-16 – Adrrie Michael Perez, Gian Matt Bullecer, Tobie Rabat, Adrian Bisera, Gabriel Tan, Kenly Troy Wacan, Nino Villasencio, Aldrein Gialon, Edgar Ibuyan III, Josephous Gandingan

Boys’ 17-18 – Zachary Castro, Glenn Unabia, Davel Boy Pook, Rex Zaragosa, Ken Zonio, Rolly Wacan.