Labog captures PCAP crown

May 23, 2024 Ed Andaya 318 views

KEVIN Labog crowned himself as the champion in the 9th leg of the Professional Chess Association of the Philippines (PCAP) Champions League Open chess tournament at the SM City in Tuguegarao, Cagayan over the weekend.

Labog, who plays for the Pasig City Pirates in the PCAP, finished with 6.5 points in seven games in the over-the-board competition which attracted 90 players.

The pride of Solano, Nueva Vizcaya pocketed the top prize of P7,000.

“I’m very happy with my performance,” said Labog, one of the top players of Datamatics Chess Team, the reigning BPO Olympics champion.

Actually, Labog finished with the same output of Vince Angelo Medina of Cabuyao City, Laguna with 6.5 points but clinched the title by virtue of higher tiebreak score.

Medina settled for runner-up honor and earned P5,000.

McDominique Lagula of Aritao, Nueva Vizcaya came in third with six points to earn P3,000, followed by Willy Villaruz in fourth place and Jan Cliford Labog in fifth place with 5.5 points.

Completing the Top 10 finishers are Jake Tasi Tumaliuan (5.5), Marc Francis Balanay (5.5), Alexander Jude Malabad (5.0), Lionel Cerezo (5.0) and Lordwin Espiritu (5.0).

Tournament director Laurence Dumadag said Labog will advance to the grand finals of the PCAP Tournament of Champions scheduled. July 19-21 at the Greenhills Shopping Center.

Other players who have already qualified to the grand finals are FM Ellan Asuela (Leg 1, Ozamis Chess 7 in 1 Team Festival), Kevin Arquero (Leg 2, Hubstar Open Invitational), Omar Bagalacsa (Leg 3, Pasig Battle of the Masters), John Philip Gabuco (Leg 4, Puerto Princesa Open Chess Challenge), IM Daniel Quizon (Leg 5, Chairman’s Cup), FM Austin Jacob Literatus (Leg 6, Davao), Virgen Gil Ruaya (Leg 7, Camarines Sur) and IM Kim Steven Yap (Leg 8, Cebu).

Completing the cast are 13-time Philippine Open Champion GM Rogelio Antonio Jr. (PCAP Season 3 All Filipino Conference Best Player), IM Joel Banawa (PCAP Season 3 Co-Best Player) and WFM Cherry Ann Mejia (PCAP Season 3 Co-Best Player).

PCAP Chairman Michael Angelo Chua sad the T of C will be a round-robin competition.

Chua added that cash prizes of P80,000, P30,000 and P20,000 await the top three placers.

The fourth to 12th placers will receive P5,000 each.