Default Thumbnail

Eased face shield policy ‘weclome relief’ for commuters — PASAHERO Party-list

November 22, 2021 People's Journal 344 views

THE PASAHERO Partylist hailed as a “welcome relief” for millions of Filipino commuters the government’s decision to lift the mandatory use of face shields in Metro Manila and other areas under COVID-19 Alert Levels 1, 2 and 3.

“This provides welcome relief to commuters and passengers who have been forced to wear face shields for more than a year now despite the lack of medical and scientific proof that these plastic coverings are effective in preventing the spread of COVID-19,” said PASAHERO spokesperson Atty. Homer Alinsug.

Last Tuesday, the Department of Transportation said the wearing of face shields in trains, buses, jeepneys, and other public utility vehicles in low-risk areas will no longer be mandatory.

This was in compliance with the directive of President Rodrigo Roa Duterte that the use of face shields in areas under Alert Levels 1, 2 and 3 will be voluntary.

For areas under Alert Level 4, local governments and private establishments are given the discretion to mandate the use of face shields.

The use of face shields on top of face masks will be mandatory in areas under the strictest Alert Level 5.

While face shields are no longer required in most areas in the country, Alinsug said commuters must still observe health and safety protocols in all public transport facilities, including the wearing of face masks.

“We wish to remind commuters that the coronavirus is still around, that’s why it is important that we continue with proper use of face masks, regular disinfection, and physical distancing,” Alinsug said.

He added: “Our commuters are the driving force of the economy. We cannot afford them getting sick, thus the need to ensure minimal risk of infection.”

PASAHERO, also known as the Passengers and Riders Organization Inc., is a party-list group representing Filipino commuters and passengers. The Commission on Elections recently declared the group as a party-list candidate eligible to participate in the May 2022 general elections.