VP-elect Sara to take oath of office

June 18, 2022 Jester P. Manalastas 345 views

ALL is set for the inauguration of Vice President-elect Sara Duterte.

Duterte decided to take her oath-taking as the 15th Vice President of the Philippines in her hometown Davao City today, Sunday.

The oath-taking will be sworn in by Supreme Court Justice Paul Hemando, her former professor and long-time friend.

She will be wearing a Filipiniana dress designed and custom-made by Davao designer Silverio Anglacer.

The event will start with a thanksgiving Mass open to the general public in San Pedro Cathedral around 3:00 p.m.

The mass will also be live-streamed to all LED (light-emitting diode) walls placed on the streets of San Pedro, CM Recto, Anda, Boston, Magallanes, and Rizal.

After the mass, Duterte will have a photo opportunity at the altar with Archbishop Romulo Valles and all bishops, priests, and nuns in the Cathedral.

She will then proceed to the stage of San Pedro Square for the inauguration proper around 4:30 p.m.

As a way of expressing gratitude to her supporters, a concert dubbed “Musikahan” will be held with guest-performers Andrew E, Giselle Sanchez, Isay Alvarez, Robert Seña, Njel de Mesa, Wency Cornejo, Duncan Ramos, Myrus, Ima Castro, Arci Muñoz, Janell Jamer, Ines Veneracion, and many more.

President-elect Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. and other political allies are expected to witness the inauguration of Duterte.

Outgoing President Rodrigo Roa Duterte will be present during the inauguration.

Meanwhile, Sara visited the venue to check the final security system prepared by the Davao City law enforcers.

Duterte’s camp reminded the public to observe health and safety protocols such as wearing face masks, sanitizing hands regularly, and practicing cough and sneezing etiquette.

All those attending the event will go through security screening at entry points. Attendees are advised not to wear backpacks and jackets and not to bring pointed objects.

Duterte was proclaimed the winner of the vice presidential race with 32,208,417 votes.