Pasig, Toledo complete PCAP sweep

November 28, 2023 Ed Andaya 746 views

DEFENDING champion Pasig Pirates and Toledo City Trojans pulled off back-to-back victories to keep the lead in their respective conferences in the 2023 PCAP-GM Wesley So Cup chess team championships last Saturday.

Pasig swept Cagayan Kings, 14.5-6.5, and Rizal Towers, 21-0, in the Northern Conference, while Toledo subdued Mindoro Tamaraws, 13.5-7.5, and Cebu Niños, 18.5-2.5, in the Southern Conference in this 18-team, two-division tournament organized by the Professional Chess Association of the Philippines (PCAP) and sponsored by San Miguel Corporation, Ayala Land and PCWorx.

GM Gombosuren Munkhgal, Sherily Cua, Kevin Arquero and Marc Labog provided the victories for the Pirates — all with similar 2.5-.5 scores– against the Kings.

GM Mark Paragua, Munkhgal, Cua and IM Cris Ramayrat led the way as the Pirates swept the Towers.

The twin victories enabled Pasig to share the lead with San Juan Predators, who blasted Rizal Towers, 21-0, and Isabela Knights, 13.5-7.5, with identical 23-2 win-loss records.

Pasig, however, enjoys 385.5-380 lead over San Juan in total points scored after 25 matches.

Cavite Spartans, led by GM Alexsey Sorokin of Russia, IM Rolando Nolte and WIM Bernadette Galas, overpowered Manila Indios Bravos, 20-1, to move into solo third place with 21-4 record.

Sorokin outduelled GM-candidate Ronald Dableo, Nolte humbled Nelson Busa and Galas dumped Jellie Magro, all by 3-0 scores, to lead the Spartans.

The win also came after Cavite upset Pasig, 17-4, last Nov. 22.

Over in the Southern Conference, Toledo relied on David Elorta, Richard Bitoon, Cherry Ann Mejia and Edmundo Gatus to roll back Mindoro and Cebu.

The victories pushed the Trojan’s record to 22-3, seven full games ahead of second-running Iloilo Kisela Knights, who lost to Iriga and Mindoro.

Davao Stallions whipped Cebu Niños, 14-7, and Negros Sports, 14.5-6.5, to climb into fourth place with 11-14 slate.

PCAP, the country’s first play-for-pay league, is headed by President- Commissioner Atty. Paul Elauria, Chairman Michael Angelo Chua, Treasurer Atty. Arnel Batungbakal and technical committee head Engr. Jojo Buenaventura.

Games are sanctioned by the Games and Amusements Board (GAB), headed by chairman Atty. Richard Clarin.


North — Pasig 23-2, San Juan 23-2; Cavite 21-4; Isabela 15-10, Laguna 14-11;
Manila 12-13;Quezon City 8-17; Cagayan 7-18; Rizal 5-20.
South– Toledo 22-3, Iloilo 15-10; Mindoro 12-13; Davao 11-14; Cebu 10-15, Surigao 10-15; Iriga 8-17; Camarines 6-19;
Negros 3-22.