La Salle enters beach volleyball semis

May 30, 2022 Theodore P. Jurado 350 views

LA SALLE became the first team to enter the UAAP men’s beach volleyball Final Four as Noel Kampton and Vince Maglinao downed Adamson’s Francis Casas and Ned Pacquing, 21-14, 21-13, at Sands SM By The Bay.

The Green Spikers, sixth placers in the most recent competition in 2019 before it went to a two-year hiatus due to the pandemic, have won two straight and their fourth overall in five contests.

“To be honest po hindi namin expect na magiging ganito standing namin as in ang goal lang namin mag-focus at gawin mga pinapagawa nang coaches namin,” said Kampton.

University of the Philippines’ Dan Nicolas and Louis Gamban prevailed over Ateneo’s Abai Llenos and Amil Pacinio, 21-15, 21-14, to arrest a three-match slide and keep its hopes alive for the remaining Final Four berth.

The Fighting Maroons improved to 2-3, while derailing the Blue Eagles’ march to the semifinals.

Joining La Salle in the Final Four are defending champion University of Santo Tomas and Season 82 third placer National University.

The Growling Tigers’ Efraem Dimaculangan and Rancel Varga made short work of Far Eastern University, 21-14, 21-13, and Adamson, 21-9, 21-6, to extend their winning run to four games.

The Bulldogs’ James Buytrago and Pol Salvador, for their part, also stretched their winning streak to four after topping Ateneo, 21-16, 21-17, and FEU, 21-16, 21-23.

The Growling Tigers and the Bulldogs forced a three-way tie with the Green Spikers for the lead at 4-1 heading into the final day of eliminations on Friday.

Ateneo, which also lost to NU, 16-21, 17-21, in the morning session, ended its elimination round stint with an even 3-3 record.

The Tamaraws. who fielded in Martin Bugaoan in lieu of Vincent Nadera to be paired with Jelord Talisayan, bowed out of Final Four contention with a 1-4 slate.

The Falcons, who replaced Pacquing for Aaron Mirador in their loss to the Tigers, remained winless in five matches.

Games Friday

(Sands SM By The Bay)
9 a.m. – DLSU vs UST
10 a.m. – UP vs FEU
11 a.m. – AdU vs NU