Cignal acquires Bombita

October 1, 2021 Theodore P. Jurado 377 views

CIGNAL HD continued its revamp for next year’s Premier Volleyball League by acquiring open spiker Graze Bombita to bolster its offensive firepower.

“Graze Bombita is ready to detonate and score some points for the #AwesomeNation!” the club posted on its social media accounts with a volleyball emoji.

One of the now-professional league’s biggest finds, the 5-foot-9 Bombita previously played in BaliPure, where she tied Chery Tiggo’s Dindin Santiago-Manabat in seventh place in scoring at the end of the Open Conference eliminations with 114 points.

However, the Water Defenders, who pulled a shocker against the eventual champion Crossovers early in the season, missed the semifinals with a 3-6 record.

Bombita, who first played for Iriga in the PVL’s precursor V-League in 2016, will finally lessen her burden for the HD Spikers, who are still led by Rachel Ann Daquis.

Cignal earlier has also signed opposite spiker Angeli Araneta, setter Gel Cayuna and libero Bia General.

Meanwhile, opposite spiker May Luna, libero Julia Angeles and setter Chin Gual were reportedly acquired by Chery Tiggo.

Playmaker Gyzelle Sy, middle blocker Marian Buitre and open spiker Jannine Navarro, however, have parted ways with the Crossovers.

Luna is expected to contribute on Chery Tiggo’s already vaunted offense. Gual will serve as Jasmine Nabor’s new back-up, while Angeles will man the floor defense along with libero Buding Duremdes.

The Puso Pilipinas’ online PVL Moments Awards was held Wednesday night with Creamline stars Alyssa Valdez and Jia Morado leading the winners.

Valdez took the Hardest Hitter honors, while Morado bagged the Offense Leader plum. The winners were based through online fan, player and media votes.

Also honored were Chery Tiggo’s Jaja Santiago (Serving Standout), Buding Duremdes (Best Volleyball Save) and Aaron Velez (Best Coach Kodak Moment Award), Choco Mucho’s Dennise Lazaro-Revilla (Dime Specialist) and Ponggay Gaston (Upbeat Award), PetroGazz’s Ria Meneses (Block Party Award), and PLDT’s Rhea Dimaculangan (Ate Award).

The Flying Titans and the Perlas Spikers took the TikTokerist of the Conference and TikTok Volleybelle of the Year award, respectively.