AVC action in Subic gets green light

May 16, 2021 Theodore P. Jurado 363 views

THE Philippines has received the Asian Volleyball Confederation’s green light to organize 21st Asian Senior Women’s Championship this year, the continental federation announced through its website yesterday.

The top-tier championship was originally set to take place in Jiangmen, China, but the country recently pulled out as hosts.

One of two international tournaments the Filipina spikers are participating this year, the Asian Senior Women’s Volleyball Championship is due to be held in Subic and Clark from August 29 to September 5.

The Philippines is seeking redemption in the 31st Southeast Asian Games scheduled on November 21 to December 2 in Hanoi, Vietnam.

This will be the third time the country will host the continental women’s championship as the competition was also held here in 1997 and 2017.

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) on Wednesday announced the 16 women – a mix of veterans and collegiate standouts – who make up the volleyball pool for the Asian Championships and the SEA Games.

The team is still in the process of naming a setter, outside hitter, libero and opposite to complete the women’s volleyball pool.

Also, the Philippines women’s and beach volleyball teams will also compete in the AVC Continental Cup as Nakhon Pathom, Thailand has replaced China as hosts for the semi-finals on June 18 and 19 and Finals on June 25 to 27.

The winners in both women’s and men’s events will qualify for the Tokyo Olympics in July.

The Philippines, whose beach volleyball squads achieved bronze medal finish in the SEA Games two years ago, got the opportunity to play in the AVC Continental Cup with Thailand moving up as host.

Thailand took the women’s gold while Indonesia took the silver in the biennial meet in Subic, which also served as the qualifier for the AVC Continental Cup. The Indonesians ruled the men’s division, while the Thais ended up in second place.

Sisi Rondina, Bernadeth Pons, Dzi Gervacio and Dij Rodriguez ended the Philippines’ 14-year medal drought in the women’s division, while Jude Garcia, James Buytrago, Jaron Requinton and Edmar Bonono achieved a breakthrough in the men’s side.

Except for Bonono, all the players are named by the PNVF in the national beach volleyball pool.