Badminton University of the Philippines rules the Smart Intercollegiate badminton tournament.

UP rules Smart badminton

September 14, 2022 Robert Andaya 277 views

UNIVERSITY of the Philippines crowned itself as the first-ever Philippine Inter-collegiate Badminton champion.

Led by Jason Vanzuela and Michael Clemente, the Fighting Maroons completed a 3-0 sweep of San Beda University to rule the two-day competition at the Centro Athletico Badminton Court in Quezon City.

With the win, the Fighting Maroons took the championship trophy, the gold medals, rackets, and P50,000 cash prize as the first-ever winners of this two-day competition organized by the Philippine Badminton Association, powered by Smart Communications, and supported by the MVP Sports Foundation, Ducksports, Young, and Apacs.

“Since marami po kaming freshies medyo nag-aadjust pa kami. Pero hindi naman tumitigil ng support sila Tito Conrado (Co, UP’s team manager), at happy po kami na after two years tuluy-tuloy pa rin po kami,” said Lea Inlayo.

“Makakatulong po talaga to sa campaign namin (sa UAAP) para maging mas confident kami ‘pag dating ng Season 85. Mas nabigyan kami ng boost and pride going into the season,” Inlayo added.

Vanzuela and Clemente capped UP’s title campaign as they overpowered the San Beda duo of Arjhay Lazareto and Ramon Timothy Santos, 21-16, 21-11, in the men’s doubles.

Actually, rookies Kervin Llanes and Anthea Gonzales put the Quezon City-based ahead by beating Laurence Alejo, 21-13, 22-20, in the men’s singles and Dana Navarro, 21-7, 21-7, in the women’s singles.

San Beda settled for the silver medal and the P20,000 cash prize.

Ateneo and Polytechnic University of the Philippines shared the bronze and received P10,000 each as consolation prizes.

Earlier Sunday, UP dominated University of Santo Tomas, 5-0, in the all-UAAP final in Group A, while San Beda University outsteadied PUP, 4-1, in the Group B final.

The Fighting Maroons relied on Llanes, who defeated Lennox Cuilao in three sets, 21-14, 18-21, 21-12, in the men’s singles; and Gonzalez, who crushed Charlize Belen. 21-6, 21-5, in the women’s singles.

Clemente and Paul Gonzales finished off the tie in the men’s doubles following a 21-17, 21-19 triumph over Francis Sarmiento and Lanz Ramirez of UST.

There was no let-up for the Quezon City-based Fighting Maroons as they also swept the women’s and mixed doubles matches to complete the rout.

Susmita Ramos and Althea Fuentespina overpowered Elij Pena and Jennifer Saldaga, 21-15, 21-14, in the women’s division while Vanzuela and Inlayo bested Rhafi Santos and Ron Jacob Galve, 21-15, 21-13., in the mixed category.

San Beda’s victory over PUP in Group B final was also never in doubt.

Julie Gimena and Ianah Belen of San Beda did it with 23-21, 21-6 victory over Jermae and Angel Esto in the women’s doubles.

Mary Joy Arizara was the lone winner for PUP when she defeated Anniena Cruz of San Beda, 21-12, 21-18, in the women’s singles.

In the other matches, Ateneo de Manila University clinched runner-up honor in Group A following a 5-0 demolition of Adamson University; while Technological University of the Philippines edged Rizal Technological University, 3-2, in Group B battle.

Arthur Salvado and Lynden Laborte secured the bronze for the Blue Eagles with a 21-15, 21-15 rout of Noel Hernandez and Gabrielle Ganoy of Adamson in the men’s doubles match.

Joanna Dumapit and Derothy Mella posted one win for TUP to close its campaign, winning over RTU’s Lowella Navarro and Andrea Paurillo in their women’s doubles battle.