Tiangco, Belmonte, Malapitan, Biazon runaway winners

April 11, 2022 People's Tonight 3593 views

ACCORDING to the most recent survey results from the HKPH Public Opinion and Research Center in partnership with the Hong Kong-based Asia Research Center, if elections were held today, the following candidates would be runaway winners in these highly urbanized cities: Toby Tiangco (Congressman- Navotas), John Rey Tiangco (Mayor- Navotas), Joy Belmonte (Mayor- Quezon City), Along Malapitan (Mayor-Caloocan) and Ruffy Biazon (Mayor- Muntinlupa).

Navoteños reaffirmed their faith in the Tiangco brothers when they switched positions, trusting that together they could provide better services to the city and its constituents. Mayor Toby Tiangco achieved a score of 90% against Gardy Cruz (8%), while Congressman John Rey Tiangco obtained an 87 percent against RC Cruz (11 percent ).

Quezon City remained a “Belmonte” stronghold, as incumbent Mayor Joy Belmonte garnered widespread voter support from all presidential tandem supporters. Mayor Belmonte garnered 65% of the vote against Congressman Mike Defensor’s 22%. Quezon City was declared an “open city” for all presidential candidates, which benefited her.

Cong. Along Malapitan, who is succeeding his father as Caloocan City’s local chief executive, has been assured of his seat by 75% of voters, who noted that the father-and-son tandem has significantly improved the city’s development and services in comparison to previous Mayors. Malapitan’s opponent, Congressman Egay Erice, receives 23% of the vote.

Ruffy Biazon, a veteran legislator, is the preferred candidate to be the next Mayor of Muntinlupa City, with 73% of voters approving of his plans for the city. Red Mariñas, his opponent, performed poorly, earning only a 20% rating.

The NCR poll also reveals the top senatorial candidates, with former DPWH Secretary Mark Villar leading the pack with 68.2%, followed by Antique Representative Loren Legarda (65.9%), former House Speaker Alan Cayetano (63.8%), Sorsogon Governor Francis “Chiz” Escudero (62.4%), and broadcaster Raffy Tulfo (60.1%).

Other candidates for Mayor who are expected to win are as follows: Mel Aguilar (90%) of Las Piñas, Abby Binay (93%) of Makati, Emi Calixto-Rubiano (91%) of Pasay, Marcy Teodoro (58%) of Marikina, Vico Sotto (65%) of Pasig, Ike Ponce (88%) of Pateros, and Francis Zamora (95%) of San Juan, ex. Comelec Chairman Ben Abalos (93%) of Mandaluyong, Vice Mayor Honey Lacuna (55%) of Manila, Cong. Eric Olivarez (82%) of Parañaque, Cong. Lani Cayetano (74%) of Taguig, and Cong. Wes Gatchalian (96%) of Valenzuela.

The survey was conducted independently and without commission from April 3-8, 2022, surveyed 5,000 registered voters with a margin of error of 1% (+/-), and used random sampling in 16 cities and one municipality throughout the National Capital Region (NCR).