Tempo sports ed is new PSA president

May 20, 2021 People's Journal 215 views

TEMPO Sports Editor Rey Virgilio Lachica heads the new set of officers of the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA).

Lachica, 54, was unanimously voted as president of the country’s oldest media organization during its virtual general assembly, a first in the history of the PSA, held recently.

He succeeded Tito Talao of the Manila Bulletin who served as president the past two years.

A product of University of the East where he once served as sports editor of The Dawn, the school’s official student publication, Lachica of Marbel, Cotabato, carries with him a vast wealth of experience in sportswriting that spans more than three decades working for Malaya, Riyadh Daily, Manila Bulletin, and Tempo.

Named by Lachica as his First and Second Vice Presidents are Nelson Beltran of the Philippines Star and Francis Ochoa of the Philippine Daily Inquirer, respectively.

Appointed as secretary is Jasmine Payo of Rappler, long-time People’s Journal sports editor Joe S. Antonio is named treasurer, Gerry Ramos of SPIN.ph as assistant treasurer, and the Philippine Star’s Abac Cordero as auditor.

Antonio, the longest serving officer of the 73-year-old association, has served 10 PSA presidents as treasurer.

Talao heads the PSA Board whose members include Jimmy Cantor (Malaya), Dodo Catacutan (SPIN.ph), Lorenzo Lomibao Jr. (Business Mirror), Riera Mallari (Manila Standard), Ed Andaya (People’s Tonight), Mae Villena (PM), Ramil Cruz (Abante Tonite), Emil Noguera (Manila Times), Julius Manicad (Daily Tribune), and Ferdz Delos Santos (Abante).

Former PSA president and current Daily Tribune Managing Editor Aldrin Cardona is named as group adviser.