Martin HEROES–The 10 Metro Bank Foundation Awardee share a historic moment with Speaker Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez, Special Assistant to the President Secretary Antonio “Anton” Lagdameo and President of Metro Bank Foundation Aniceto Sobrepeña during their meeting at the Social hall of Speaker’s office in the House of Representatives Monday afternoon. Photo by Ver Noveno

Speaker hails 10 Outstanding Filipinos as modern-day heroes

September 25, 2023 Ryan Ponce Pacpaco 629 views

SPEAKER Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez on Monday hailed the 2023 Metrobank Foundation’s Ten Outstanding Filipinos as modern-day heroes and thanked them for their courage, integrity, patriotism and dedication to duty in serving the nation.

In his message during the presentation of awardees at the Social Hall of the Speaker’s Office in the House of Representatives, Romualdez said the Ten Outstanding Filipinos “exemplify the best of our nation.”

“The Metrobank Foundation has always been at the forefront of recognizing brilliance in public service. Today’s event is a reflection of their belief that heroes reside amongst us. They might not wear capes, but they shine brightly with courage, integrity, patriotism and dedication,” said Romualdez, leader of the 311-member House.

Addressing the four educators among the awardees, Romualdez said their influence shapes generations, ensuring they understand the essence of being Filipino, love for our country and the responsibility to be stewards of our nation’s destiny.

He likewise lauded the brave soldiers and dedicated police officers as the bulwark of our safety, rights and sovereignty.

“The risks you take and the sacrifices you make are reflections of your unwavering commitment to the Filipino people. In the quiet moments of your service lie the loud echoes of heroism,” Romualdez said.

Beyond the cash prize, trophy, and gold medallion given to the awardees, Romualdez said their true worth lies in the lives they have touched, the futures they have shaped and the peace they have secured for us.

“Today, as we celebrate each one of you, let’s also remind ourselves of our shared responsibility and potential. Your journeys serve as compelling examples, urging us all to strive for greatness in service,” he said.

Recently, the House has adopted a resolution to congratulate and commend the 2023 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Awards recipients for their unwavering commitment and exceptional contributions to public service.

House Resolution (HR) No. 1312 was introduced by Speaker Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez, Senior Deputy Speaker Aurelio “Dong” D. Gonzales Jr., Majority Leader Manuel Jose “Mannix” M. Dalipe, Minority Leader Marcelino C. Libanan, Senior Deputy Majority Leader Ferdinand Alexander A. Marcos and Tingog Partylist Reps. Yedda Marie K. Romualdez and Jude A. Acidre.

The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos is the foremost and most prestigious career-service award bestowed upon outstanding individuals in the academe, military and police sectors.

It highlights the achievements of 10 distinguished Filipinos, comprising four educators, three dedicated military personnel and three commendable police officers.

Recipients of the 2023 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Award for Teachers were Rex M. Sario, Master Teacher I/Teacher-in-charge of Balogo Elementary School (Pangantucan, Bukidnon); June Elias V. Patalinghug, EdD, Master Teacher II at Catalunan Grade Elementary School (Davao City); Edgar R. Durana, MAEd, Master Teacher I/SPED Coordinator at Don Jose M. Ynares Sr. Memorial National High School (Binangonan, Rizal); and Jovelyn G Delosa, Ph.D., Associate Professor/Vice President for Academic Affairs of Northern Bukidnon State College (Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon).

Meanwhile, recipients of the 2023 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Award for Soldiers were Staff Sergeant Danilo S. Banquiao, Civil-Military Officer-Non-Commissioned Officer of 103rd Brigade, 1st Infantry Division of Philippine Army (Marawi City, Lanao del Sur); Lieutenant Colonel Joseph J. Bitancur, Assistant Commandant of the Basic Military School, Air Education, Training and Doctrine Command-Philippine Air Force (Lipa City, Batangas); and Colonel Joseph Jeremias Cirilo C. Dator, Assistant Chief of Staff for Operations of the Presidential Security Group and former Commanding Officer of the 10th Military Intelligence Battalion, 10th Infantry Division (Mawab, Davao de Oro).

Recipients of the 2023 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Award for Police Officers were Chief Master Sergeant Dennis D. Bendo, Section Team Leader of the District Mobile Force Battalion of Manila Police District; Major Mae Ann R. Cunanan, Chief of Police Community Relations Criminal Investigation and Detection Group and former Chief of the Case Monitoring Section, Regional Investigation and Detection Management Division, PRO 9 in Zamboanga City; and Colonel Renell R. Sabaldica, Chief of Morale and Welfare Division of Directorate for Personnel and Records Management in Camp Crame, Quezon City, and former Provincial Director of Cagayan Police Provincial Office in Tuguegarao City.