SEAG medallists at Sports on Air

May 21, 2022 Robert Andaya 540 views

THREE of the country’s top performing athletes in the 31st Southeast Asian Games — Mary Francine Padios (pencak silat), Mac Valdez (beach handball) and Al Llamas (kurash) — will be the special guests in the 21st Sports on Air.

Padios captured the gold medal in pencak silat, Valdez was team captain of the men’s beach handball team which earned the silver medal while Llamas took the bronze medal in kurash.

The weekly session begins at 10 a.m.

This will be the 21st episode of “Sports on Air Weekly”, the hottest sports program managed by veteran sports journalists Ed Andaya of People’s Tonight, Ernest Leo Hernandez of SOA, Gerard Arce of Bulgar, Ivan Saldajeno of Philippine News Agency, Gab Ferreras of Sports Corner. PH, Jean Malanum of Manila Times and Danny Simon of Police Files.

Past “Sports on Air” guests were Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) commissioner Willie Marcial and Samahang Weightlifting ng Pilipinas president Monico Puentevella last Jan. 14; Games and Amusements Board (GAB) chairman Baham Mitra and Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) chairman Steve Hontiveros last Jan. 21; Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) commissioner and SEA Games chef de mission Ramon Fernandez last Jan. 28;

Philippine Racing Commission (PHILRACOM) Chairman Reli de Leon and PBA coaches Ariel Vanguardia of Blackwater, Chris Gavina of Rain or Shine and Rensy Bajar of NorthPort last Feb. 4; Pilipinas Super League officials Ricky Chan, Ray Alao and Marc Pingris last Feb. 11; former POC president Cristy Ramos last Feb. 12; Boxing champion Vincent Astrolabio and coach Nonoy Neri last Feb. 17; Wrestling Association of the Philippines president Alvin Aguilar and Kurash Sports Federation head Rolan Llamas last Feb. 18; and Wushu Federation president Freddie Jalasco, Philippne Judo Federation secretary-general David Carter and Samahang Kickboxing ng Pilipinas secretary-general Wharton Chan last Feb. 25;

Association of Boxing Alliances in the Philippines (ABAP) president Ed Picson, archery coach Clint Sayo and Philippine ESports Organization secretary general Joebert Yu last March 4; PSC commissioner Celia Kiram last March 11; boxing champion Narj Guro, muaythai hero Philip Delarmino and triathlon winner Claire Adorna last March 18; and four-time world bowling champion Bong Coo last March 19; and Karen Tanchanco-Caballero of Pilipinas Sepaktakraw Federation and Pearl Managuelod of Muaythai Association of the Philippines last March 25;

Pilipinas Super League team owners last April 2; and national cycling coach Ednalyn Huelda, shooting coach Ronald Hejastro and duathlon organizer Cho delos Santos last April 9; SEA Games marathon gold medalist Mary Joy Tabal, long jump champion Khay Santos and rising golf star Rianne Mikhaela Malixi last April 23; and PSL champion Davao Occidental Tigers last April 30; and
Philippine Sports Federation of the Deaf president Lester Lagos and World Taekwondo Poomsae champions Ernesto Guzman, Jr., and Ian Matthew Corton last May 7; and Letran coach Bonnie Tan last May 14. By Robert Andaya