SC orders physical closure of several courts due to COVID-19

January 21, 2022 Hector Lawas 130 views

THE Supreme Court on Friday ordered the physical closure of first and second level courts in 15 more provinces after these areas were placed under Alert Level 3 and 4 by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) due to rising COVID-19 cases.

Under OCA (Office of the Court Administrator) Circular No. 20-2022, courts in these areas will be physically closed from January 21 to 31: Apayao (CAR), Puerto Princesa City, Masbate, Siquijor, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga Sibugay, Lanao del Norte, Davao de Oro, Davao Oriental, North Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, Surigao Del Norte, Maguindanao, and Basilan.

Under Alert Level 4, people below 18 and over 65 years old, those with underlying illnesses, and pregnant women are not allowed to go out of their houses.

Cinemas and movie houses, funfairs, live voice, and wind instrument events, and all contact sports — whether indoor or outdoor — are prohibited.

Face-to-face or in-person classes, except those approved by the IATF and/or the Office of the President, are also not allowed.

Establishments like restaurants, barbershops, hair and nail spas, and beauty salons can operate at a maximum of 10% indoor venue capacity for fully vaccinated individuals only and 30% outdoor venue capacity.