Beauty Reigning queen Roseann Camille Fernandez passes her crown to Catherine Joy Legaspi as Queen Isabela 2023. Photo by ERWIN VICENTINO

San Miguel bet is Queen Isabela 2023

January 27, 2023 People's Tonight 1562 views
Photo shows (from left) Alicia Cherry Lee Garlijo, 2nd runner-up; Ramon Johanna Trisha Cinco, Queen Isabela Culture and Arts; San Manuel Catherine Joy Legaspi, Queen Isabela 2023; Ms. Cauayan Julie Mae Villanueva, Queen Isabela Tourism; and Ms. Indigenous Peoples Community Jaycel Lumauig, 1st runner-up. Photo by ERWIN VICENTINO



Highlights of the Queen Isabela 2023 grand coronation night. Photos by ERWIN VICENTINO

SAN Manuel’s Catherine Joy Legaspi was hailed as Queen Isabela 2023 at the grand coronation night on January 25, held at Queen Isabela Park.

She took home P50,000 and other gift certificates from various sponsors.

Legaspi won the judges’ hearts when she responded to the question, “As part of the younger generation, why do you think we struggle in having a sustained, developed, and advanced agricultural economy if we were dubbed as an agricultural country?”

“For me, it is because we don’t patronize our own first. We used to patronize others’ products before ours. And this is a reminder for everyone that it is not too late to patronize our own and to contribute to the growth of our economy. We must put our country first because our country’s tomorrow depends on how we shape it today,” was Legaspi’s winning answer.

Ms. Cauayan, Julie Mae Villanueva, was crowned Queen Isabela Tourism; Ms. Ramon, Johanna Trisha Cinco, won as Queen Isabela Culture and Arts; Ms. Indigenous Peoples Community, Jaycel Lumauig, was named first runner-up; and Ms. Alicia, Cherry Lee Garlijo, was crowned second runner-up.

Those who landed in the Top 10 were: Santa Maria – Angelyn Lopez; Quirino – Karla Mae Dulay; Indigenous Peoples Community – Jaycel Lumauig; Alicia – Cherry Lee Garlijo; San Manuel – Catherine Joy Legaspi; Ramon – Johanna Trisha Cinco; Cauayan – Julie Mae Villanueva; Roxas – Christine Mae Mapatac; Benito Soliven – Jessica Carbonel; and Echague – Jazkaren Corpuz.

Filipino singer, actor, model, army reservist, and licensed private pilot Ronnie Liang thrilled the audience and the contestants as he serenaded them with songs Ligaya, Gusto Kita, and his arguably all-time hit song Ngiti.

Former title holders Roseann Camille Fernandez, Zyra Ysabelle April Rola, and Kimberly Jane Madamba Agob, who reigned for three years due to pandemic, passed their crowns to respective title winners. By ERWIN VICENTINO & ANGELO SANCHEZ