Romualdez House Majority Leader and Leyte Rep. Martin G. Romualdez

Romualdez top performing solon in region 8

August 11, 2021 People's Tonight 471 views

HOUSE Majority Leader and Leyte 1st District Rep. Martin G. Romualdez has emerged as the top performing congressman in Region VIII with a job approval rating of 68%, according to a non-commissioned and independent survey released on Tuesday.

The survey, conducted by RP-Mission and Development Foundation Inc. (RPMD), was based on data gathered in the region from August 1 to 10, 2021.

“I am very honored, humbled and grateful with the survey results. With all humility, thank you for the continued trust and confidence in me,” Romualdez, chairman of the House committee on rules, said after RPMD held its first “House of Representatives (HOR) Public Satisfaction Survey” in various districts nationwide.

“With this overwhelming support and mandate from the people, it will further inspire me to work tirelessly as your representative for the betterment of our district, region, and nation. We will make sure that the government is always here for the people,” Romualdez, president of the Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (CMD), stressed.

The RPMD said that a total of 10,000 respondents per district in every region were asked “Do you approve or disapprove of the way [name of District Representative] is handling his/her job as Congressman/Congresswoman?”

Romualdez, a lawyer from the University of the Philippines (UP) and president of the Philippine Constitution Association, is followed by Biliran Lone District Rep. Gerardo “GerryBoy” Espina Jr. with 66%. Next to Espina is Leyte 4th District Rep. Lucy Marie Torres-Gomez with 64% while Leyte 5th District Rep. Carl Nicolas Cari landed in 4th spot with 60% and Southern Leyte Rep. Roger Mercado ranked fifth with 57%.

In a statement, Dr. Paul Martinez, RPMD Executive Director, said “the overall district representative in Eastern Visayas are doing well in their accomplishments, however, those who are performing well should be recognized for their outstanding public service.”