Martin Lakas-CMD president and House Majority Leader Rep. Martin Romualdez (left) swears in new Lakas-CMD members (from right) Cebu 2nd District Rep. Edsel Galeos, Cebu 6th District Rep.Daphne Lagon and Mandaue City Lone District Rep. Emmarie “Lolypop” Ouano-Dizon during the oath taking ceremony at the Lakas-CMD headquarters in Mandaluyong City. Other photo shows Romualdez swearing in other new Lakas-CMD members (from right) 2nd District Rep. David “Jayjay” Suarez, Oriental Mindoro 1st District Rep. Arnan Panaligan and Batangas 2nd District Rep. Gerville “Jinky” Luistro. Photos by VER NOVENO

Romualdez: Lakas unity partners increasing

June 14, 2022 Ryan Ponce Pacpaco 652 views

Martin12 more solons join Lakas-CMD, members rise from 27 to 52

TWO more congressmen in the incoming 19th Congress have joined the Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD), bringing the party’s strength to 52.

House Majority Leader and Leyte 1st District Rep. Martin G. Romualdez, Lakas-CMD president, swore in Salvador “Ador” Pleyto Sr. (Bulacan) and Emeng Pascual (Nueva Ecija) as new Lakas-CMD members 4 p.m. Tuesday at the Lakas-CMD Headquarters in Mandaluyong City.

“Our partners in our call for unity are growing by the day. This is no surprise since the just-concluded May elections showed everyone that the Filipino people prefer unity right now, with the stake as high as they are in order for our country to fully recover from the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Romualdez, a lawyer from University of the Philippines (UP) and president of the Philippine Constitution Association (Philconsa).

In the same event, nine congressmen-member of Lakas-CMD from Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao formally took their ceremonial oath, further solidifying the party.

Reps. Daphne Lagon (Cebu), David “Jayjay” C. Suarez (Quezon), Emmarie “Lolypop” M. Ouano-Dizon (Mandaue City), Edsel Galeos (Cebu), Arnan C. Panaligan (Oriental Mindoro), Faustino Michael Carlos T. Dy III (Isabela), Steve Solon (Sarangani), Princess Rihan M. Sakaluran (Sultan Kudarat), and Jinky Bitrics Luistro (Batangas) were sworn in by Romualdez.

Romualdez said the nine lawmakers were already part of the 52-strong Lakas membership in the House of Representatives.

A recent wave of oath-takings caused the number of Lakas members to rise from 27 to 52.

Romualdez is president of Lakas-CMD, one of the oldest and most respected political parties in the country.

Lakas-CMD produced two chief executives, namely former Presidents Fidel V. Ramos and Gloria Macapagal Arroyo.