PUBL crown to Altas

December 13, 2022 People's Tonight 587 views

UNIVERSITY of Perpetual Help Dalta System is the 2022 Philippine University Basketball League (PUBL) basketball champion.

Handled by coach Mike Saguiguit and assistant coach Stephen Mopera, the Las Piñas City-based Altas defeated Philip.pine Christian University, 86-70, to crown themselves as the champions
Tournament director Allan Soria and technical head Romulo Raytos awarded the medals and trophies to the winners after the game held at UPHDS Sports Complex.

“We’re happy to win the title. The boys worked hard and deserve to win the championship,” said Saguiguit, who was also named as Best Coach in the tournament.

Mark Denver Omega joined forces with Angel Jielo Razon, Rey Joey Barcuma and Jearico Nunez in leading the team to a well-deserved victory.

Omega finished with a game-high 25 points and 12 rebounds for the Altas, who are being fully supported by UPHDS community lead by school president Antonio Jose M. Tamayo and Sports Director Frank Gusi.

Razon, who was later named Most Valuable Player (MVP) fired 23 points while Barcuma and Nunez had 12 and 10 points, respectively.

Jose Adrian Antonio carried the fight for the Dolphins of coach Biboy Simon with 24 points. Lionel Failon added 13 points and Yam Conception had 11 points.

Razon and Omega led the Mythical Five along with Antonio and Mark Edison Ordoñez of PCU and John Kobe Dalisay of Mapua.

Other members of the team are Justine Kyle Thompson, Christian Pagaran, Angelo Geisano, Jayvee Udugan, Chester Allen Tanyag, Ralph Laurence Cauguiran, Shawn Michael Orgo, Jasper Derek Cuevas, Richard Movida, Marcus Cyrus Nitura and John Cedrick Abis.

In the battle for third place, Mapua University downed Technological University of the Philippines, 62-48.

Toby Bryan Agustin, Clint Escamis and Kobe Bryant Caballero combined for 26 points for the Cardinals of coach Ernani Epondulan and coach Lito Aguilar.

John Matthew Sibug paced the Arlene Rodriguez- mentored Grayhawks with 10 points.

The tournament is organized by Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (FESSAP) in cooperation with Asia Pacific University Sports Union (APISU) and Basketball Association of the Philippines (BAP). AA