PNVF Champions League set Nov. 5-13

November 2, 2022 Theodore P. Jurado 808 views

A TOTAL of 15 men’s teams and eight women’s squads will compete in the PNVF Champions League from November 5-13 at the Philsports Arena.

Representing Pasay City, National University, the reigning UAAP and Spikers’ Turf champions, will banner a heavily stacked men’s field.

The Bulldogs are handled by coach Dante Alinsunurin, who steered the country to its historic silver medal finish in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games.

NU-Pasay City is in Pool B, which is also made up of the Aklan Ati-Atihans, Imus City- AJAA Spikers, One Bulacan Republicans and Pikit-North Cotabato AMC G Spikers.

The men’s Pool A is composed of the PGJC Navy Sea Lions, Basilan-Tennun Spikers, Cignal HD Spikers, VNS-Quezon City Griffins and AIP-University of Baguio-Benguet Province Cardinals.

In Pool C are the University of the East (UE)-Cherrylume Red Warriors, Baguio City Highlanders, Bacolod City Tarags, Sta. Rosa City Lions and Army-Taguig City Troopers.

Carrying the banner of Antipolo City, California Precision Sports, which made a big impression in last year’s inaugural edition, returns to lead the women’s side. The CAL Babies placed fifth in the bubble tournament.

CPS-Antipolo City is in Pool B, which also has Davao City Lady Agilas, UE Manila-Cherrylume Lady Red Warriors and Tomodachi Bulacan Bulakenyas.

University of Batangas-Batangas City Lady Brahmans, ICC-Caloocan City Lady Bluehawks, KMS-Quezon City Lady Vikings and Imus City-AJAA Lady Spikers are bracketed in Pool A.

The draw was held virtually last Sunday.

“This year’s Champions League is all about the LGUs so we expect more exciting matches ahead,” said PNVF president Ramon “Tats” Suzara as he thanked Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairman Noli Eala for supporting the event, which is now on its second edition.

“It’s going to be a battle of pride for these LGUs. It’s going to be more competitive than last year,” he added. “This year’s tournament is also be part of the selection for the national teams next year.”

Team Dasma (men) and F2 Logistics (women) won the last year’s Champions League inaugurals.