PCAP Wesley So Cup kicks off May 21

May 19, 2022 Ed Andaya 625 views

SUPER GM Wesley So is again expected to pay tribute to Filipino chess players when the 2022 PCAP Wesley So Cup (Second Conference) chess team championships come off the wraps on Saturday, May 21.

So, the country’s highest-rated player before his transfer to tbe United States in 2014, will make the inspirational remarks during the 6 p.m. opening ceremony of the tournament named in his honor.

Last year, the Bacoor, Cavite-born world champion also congratulated the Professional Chess Association of the Philippines for organizing the country’s first-ever professional chess league, and his fellow Filipino players for doing well despite the many challenges in the sport.

Games and Amusements Board (GAB) Chairman Abraham “Baham” Mitra will also deliver an inspirational message.

PCAP Chairman Michael Angelo Chua will make the welcome remarks, while PCAP Commissioner-President Atty. Paul Elauria will give the closing speech.

World IPCA champion IM Sander Severino will lead the oath of sportsmanship in the tournament sponsored by San Miguel Corporation, Ayala Land and PCWorx.

Highlight of the Saturday event is the awarding of trophies and prizes to the team and individual winners of the recently-concluded PCAP All-Filipino Conference.

To be awarded are:

San Juan Predators — Champion.
Iloilo Kisela Knights — First runner-up.
Pasig King Pirates — Second runner-up.
Davao Chess Eagles — Third runner-up.

Special awards will also be given to the Best Player of the Conference and Finals MVP.

Games of the first round will begin at 8 p.m.

San Juan, bannered by GM Rogelio Antonio Jr., Karl Victor Ochoa and import GM Hovhannes Gabuzyan of Armenia, is the defending champion.

Antonio, dubbed as “Iron Man”, emerged as the best player in the All-Filipino Conference where he posted 51 wins, 14 draws and only three losses.

Also returning to play for the Leo Sotaridona-owned team are WIM Cherry Ann Mejia, NM Cesar Mariano and homegrown bets John Michael Silvederio, Fritz Bryan Porras and Rolly Parondo Jr. By Ed Andaya