Karlo Nograles

NCR stays under Alert Level 3 till Jan. 31

January 14, 2022 People's Tonight 244 views

MANILA – The National Capital Region (NCR) will remain under Alert Level 3 until the end of January amid the rise in coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) cases, Malacañang said Friday.

Acting presidential spokesperson and Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles announced this decision made by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) in a Palace briefing.

The Metro Manila Council (MMC) earlier decided to retain the Alert Level 3 status for NCR, citing enough restrictions in place and only a slight increase in the region’s healthcare utilization rate (HCUR) despite the increasing number of COVID-19 infections.

In IATF Resolution 157-A, also under Alert Level 3 from January 16 to 31 in Luzon are Baguio City, Ifugao and Mountain Province in the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR); Dagupan City and Ilocos Sur in Region 1 (Ilocos); Santiago City and Cagayan in Region 2 (Cagayan Valley); Angeles City, Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Olongapo City, Pampanga and Zambales in Region 3 (Central Luzon); Rizal, Batangas, Cavite, Laguna and Lucena City in Region 4-A (Calabarzon); Marinduque and Romblon in Region 4-B (Mimaropa); Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Naga City and Sorsogon in Region 5 (Bicol).

Areas in the Visayas under Alert Level 3 are Iloilo City, Iloilo province Negros Occidental and Guimaras in Region 6 (Western Visayas); Lapu-Lapu City, Bohol, Cebu and Negros Oriental in Region 7 (Central Visayas); Ormoc City, Biliran, Samar, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar and Southern Leyte in Region 8 (Eastern Visayas).

In Mindanao, the areas under Alert Level 3 are Isabela City, Zamboanga City and Zamboanga del Sur in Region 9 (Zamboanga Peninsula); Bukidnon, Iligan City, Misamis Occidental and Misamis Oriental in Region 10 (Northern Mindanao); Davao del Sur and Davao del Norte in Region 11 (Davao region); General Santos City and South Cotabato in Region 12 (Soccsksargen); Surigao del Sur and Agusan del Norte in Caraga; and Lanao del Sur in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

Meanwhile, placed under the less strict Alert Level 2 are Apayao, Batanes, Palawan, Puerto Princesa City, Masbate, Siquijor, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga Sibugay, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Davao de Oro, Davao Occidental, Davao Oriental, North Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Basilan, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi.

Under Alert Level 3, establishments or activities shall be allowed to operate or be undertaken at a maximum of 30 percent indoor venue capacity for fully vaccinated individuals only and 50 percent outdoor venue capacity, provided that all workers of the establishments are fully vaccinated against Covid-19.

Intrazonal and interzonal movement are still allowed, however, reasonable restrictions may be imposed by the LGUs, which should not be stricter as those prescribed under higher alert levels and subject to the oversight, monitoring, and evaluation of their respective Regional IATF.

Those below 18 years of age, and those belonging to the vulnerable population, shall be allowed access to obtain essential goods and services, or for work in permitted industries and offices in accordance with existing labor laws, rules, and regulations. Individual outdoor exercises shall also be allowed for all ages regardless of comorbidities or vaccination status. Philippine News Agency