MOA inked on transfer of CAAP functions to BARMM-MOTC inked

September 21, 2022 Jun I. Legaspi 110 views

THE Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP), Department of Transportation (DOTr), and the BARMM Ministry of Transportation and Communications held the ceremonial (BARMM-MOTC) signing of the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) and its Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) between CAAP and the Bangsamoro Airport Authority (BAA) on September 20, 2022.

The signing was held at the Cotabato (Awang) Airport in Datu Odin Sinsuat, Maguindanao del Norte.

CAAP Acting Director General Captain Manuel Antonio L. Tamayo and DOTr Undersecretary for Aviation and Airports Roberto C. Lim represented CAAP-DOTr, while BARMM was represented by BARMM-MOTC Minister Dickson P. Hermoso, and BARMM-MOTC Deputy Minister Abunawas L. Maslamama.

The MOA transfers CAAP assets and functions to the MOTC mainly including the ownership, management, and supervision of six CAAP-operated airports within BARMM. These airports include Cotabato Airport (Awang) in Cotabato City, Sanga-Sanga Airport in Tawi-Tawi, Jolo Airport in Sulu, Wao Airport in Lanao del Sur, Mapun Airport in Mapun, Tawi-Tawi, and Malabang Airport also in Lanao del Sur.

The MOA facilitates the implementation of Republic Act No. 11054, otherwise known as the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) which establishes the institution of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.