Mindoro chessers stay in contention

October 4, 2021 Ed Andaya 651 views

MINDORO Tamaraws bested Iriga Oragons, 14-7, to clinch the eighth and last berth in the Southern Division in the 2021 PCAP San Miguel Corporation-Ayala Land chess championships last Saturday.

AIM Joselito Asi humbled Marviz Zuniega, 2-1, AGM Nezil Merilles crushed Joeven Polsotin, 3-0, and USNM Rainier Labay edged NM Glennen Artuz, 2-1, to power the Tamaraws to their third win in 10 matches and a place in the next round.

Cordova Dagami Warriors had a chance to finish in a tie with Mindoro at 3-7, but lost 10-11 to the Palawan Queen’s Gambits in their final match.

WIM-elect Shania Mae Mendoza outduelled Mark Mangubat, Marife dela Torre humbled Raymond Abellana and WIM Beverly Mendoza nipped Marian Calimbo as the Queen’s Gambits breezed past the Dagami Warriors, 6-1, in blitz side of the competitions.

Cordova got back at Palawan, 9-5, in rapid on victories by Calimbo, Odilon Badilles, Neil Gilig and Ariel Joseph Abellana.

Mindoro’s victory overshadowed PCAP-GM Wesley So Cup champion Iloilo Kisela Knights’ 13.5-7.5 triumph over the Negros Kingsmen in the battle of top two teams in the South.

GM Rogelio Antonio Jr., Giovanni Mejia, Cesar Mariano and Mark Jossel Mariano led the Kisela Knights to the victory and a 10-game sweep of the eliminations.

Negros remained in second place with 8-2 record

Lapu-Lapu Naki Warriors, led by the 3-0 victories of Edsel Montoya, Bernadette Galas, Lincoln Yap, Bryle Arellano and Anthony Makinano, demolished Iriga, 18.5-2.5, to finish third at 7-3.

Surigao Fianchetto Checkmates made the biggest move during the weekend by sweeping Camarines Soaring Eagles, 15.5-5.5, and Cebu Machers, 14-7.

NM Joey Florendo downed Robert Suelo, 2-1, Vic Arellano clobbered Raul Fernandez, 3-0, FM Vince Alaan outplayed Carlo Lorena, 3-0, Tyrone Alaan beat Ronald Llavanes, 3-0, and Rogelio Canoy bested Coellier Graspela, 3-0, in Surigao’s easy win over Camarines.

Florendo, Alaan, Canoy and AGM Rey Urbiztondo were the top scorers for Surigao over Cebu.

Failing to advance to the next round are Cagayan Kings (2-7) and Cavite Spartans (1-8) in the North; and Cordova (2-8), Cebu (1-9) and Iriga (1-9).

The second phase of the eliminations will resume Wednesday with the eight guests teams — four foreign and four local — joining the fray.

The four foreign teams are Shenzhen Pengcheng Chess Club Checkered Dragons of China, Penang Blue Panthers of Malaysia, Double Bishop Bangkok Chess Club of Thailand and Singapore.

The four local guest teams are the Philippine Paralympic team, headed by IPCA world champion Sander Severino snd AGM Henry Lopez; the Davao Executive Chess Society Eagles, bannered by 2013 Kazan Universiade veteran Mary Palero-Segarra and James Infiesto; Pampanga Junior Checkers, led by Lexie Hernandez, Oshrie James Reyes and April Claros; and Sunrays junior team.


North –San Juan 8-1; Laguna 8-1, Pasig 7-2; Manila 7-2, Isabela 4-5; Caloocan 3-6
Rizal 3-6; Olongapo 2-6 Cagayan 2-7; Cavite 1-8.
South — Iloilo 10-0; Negros 8-2; Lapu-Lapu 7-3, Surigao 7-3; Palawan 6-4; Toledo 5-5, Camarines 5-5; Mindoro 3-7;
Cordova 2-8; Cebu 1-9, Iriga 1-9.

Games Oct. 6

First round
San Juan vs Iloilo, Laguna vs Negros, Pasig vs Lapu-Lapu, Manila vs Surigao, Isabela vs Palawan, Caloocan vs Toledo, Rizal vs Camarines, Olongapo vs Mindoro, Pengcheng vs Penang, Bangkok vs Singapore, Davao vs Paralympics, Pampanga vs Sunray

Second round
Negros vs San Juan, Lapu-Lapu vs Laguna, Surigao vs Pasig, Palawan vs Manila, Toledo vs Isabela, Camarines vs Caloocan, Mindoro vs Rizal, Penang vs Olongapo, Singapore vs Pengcheng, Paralympics vs Bangkok, Sunrays vs Davao, Iloilo vs Pampanga.