Metro Manila now under more relaxed GCQ

July 15, 2021 People's Tonight 168 views

THE additional restrictions in Metro Manila amid the general community quarantine (GCQ) status have been lifted, Malacañang announced on Thursday.

This developed after the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID), in a meeting held Wednesday, decided to recommend to President Rodrigo Duterte the further easing of restrictions in Metro Manila.

Metro Manila will be placed under the more relaxed GCQ starting July 16, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque, who also serves as IATF-EID spokesperson, said in a video message.

Metro Manila was initially placed under GCQ “with some restrictions” from July 1 to 15.

Rizal and Bulacan, which were also put under GCQ “with some restrictions,” will also be under a more relaxed GCQ beginning July 16, Roque said.

Puerto Princesa City, Zamboanga del Norte, Davao Oriental, Surigao del Sur, and Dinagat Islands, which were under the more restrictive modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from July 1 to 15, will likewise be put under GCQ.

The GCQ status will also be implemented in Baguio City, Apayao, City of Santiago, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Quezon, Batangas, Guimaras, Negros Occidental, Zamboanga Sibugay, City of Zamboanga, General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte, Surigao del Norte, Agusan del Sur, and Cotabato City.

Roque said the “heightened restrictions” in Cavite will also be lifted beginning July 16.

MECQ status

Meanwhile, Iloilo City and Iloilo will stay under MECQ until July 22, Roque said.

“Kung hindi po mag-improve ang ating mga numero ay possible pong mabagong muli ang classification ng Iloilo City at Iloilo,” he said.

Roque said Cagayan de Oro City, Davao Occidental, Davao de Oro, Davao del Sur, Davao del Norte, and Butuan City will also remain under MECQ from July 16 to 31.

GCQ ‘with heightened restrictions’

Laguna, however, will remain under GCQ “with heightened restrictions” until the end of July, Roque said.

Cagayan, Lucena City, Naga City, Negros Oriental, Zamboanga del Sur, and Davao City, which were initially under MECQ, will also be under GCQ “with heightened restrictions” until July 31, Roque said.

Roque said the GCQ classification “with heightened restrictions” will likewise be imposed in Aklan, Bacolod City, Antique, and Capiz from July 16 to 22.

Aklan, Bacolod City, Antique, and Capiz were supposed to be under GCQ sans restrictions for the entire July.

Roque said the rest of the country will remain under the least restrictive modified GCQ (MGCQ).

Duterte has already approved the new quarantine classifications, Roque said. Philippine News Agency