Macasaet Brie Macasaet (right) and Stephanie Gan won their respective divisions in the JGFP Pueblo de Oro Junior Open in Cagayan de Oro City recently.

Macasaet, Gan head JGFP cast

February 11, 2023 Ed Andaya 160 views

THE Junior Golf Foundation of the Philippines (JGFP) Riviera Sports Junior Open tees off Sunday at the Riviera Sports Club in Cavite with Pueblo de Oro champions Brie Macasaet and Stephanie Gan leading the list of participants.

Macasaet, who topped the 7-8 girls category in Pueblo de Oro Junior Open golf championships in Cagayan de Oro early this month, and Gan, who dominated the 6-under girls division, will head the cast in the tournament that also serves as the Valentine’s Day offering of the JGFP.

Macasaet finished with a final round 75 for a total of 156 to beat Davao champion Rafella Adrienne Batican, who had a two-day total of 176 in the Pueblo de Oro leg, while Gan bestedg Soleil Ianne Molde by two strokes, 173-175.

JGFP president Oliver Gan said three slots to the Junior World Championships in San Diego, California will beat stake in the 6-and-under, 7-8 and 9-10 divisions for both boys and girls.

The 18-hole tournament will also serve as a tune up event for the IMG Academy qualifying tournament slated from Feb 24-26 also at the same venue.

There will also be competitions in the boys’ 7-8 and 6-and-under categories.

Gan said he expects to draw another big turnout in the JGFP leg in Riviera Sports Club in Cavite.

“After our successful events in Davao City last month and Cagayan de Oro, we hope to do the same in Riviera in Cavite. We’re very happy with the performances of our young golfers and the experience they gained in Davao and Cagayan de Oro ,” added Gan, who expressed his gratitude to CDO junior golf chairman Ronnie Canlas and Pueblo general manager Gilby Velez for making the Cagayan de Oro event possible.

Sunday’s pairings:

8 a.m. – Stephanie Gan, Mandy Mallillin, Winter Serapio, Tara Gatchalian
8:10 a.m. – Aleena Valle, Aedan Pizzaro, Enzo de Castro, Sebastian Miguel Darjuan
8:20 a.m. – Zoji Tyro Edoc, Axton Gonzales, Kenji Yamada
8:30 a.m. – Lee Hanson, Francis Thomas Lim, Linus Sytengco
8:40 a.m. – Andi Dee, Kami del Mundo, Ziyu Liu
8:50 a.m. – Venus delos Santos, Brie Macasaet, Melaniyo Adviso, Penelope Sy
9 a.m. – Lily Agamata, Maurysee Abalos, Maria Camilla Porcincula
9:10 a.m. – Soreen Lee, EJ Illescas, Halo Pangilinan
9:20 a.m. – Stefano Dizon, Scott Dee, Kevin Ross Tecson
9:30 a.m. – Zuhao Lu, Jiadi Lin, Oscar Dale Malapitan, EC Aguirre.