Individuals tagged as terrorists can appeal in courts – DOJ exec

May 14, 2021 Hector Lawas 137 views

A senior official of the Department of Justice on Friday disclosed that personalities whom the Anti-Terrorism Council (ATC) have designated as terrorists can appeal their designation before regular courts.

“After the designation resolution is issued and after the assets are frozen, the designee can always file a petition for delisting, a verified petition for delisting, and may also of course go to court and seek judicial remedy,” Justice Undersecretary Adrian Sugay said over ABS-CBN News Channel.

Sugay likewise gave the assurance that enough safeguards are put in place to prevent the terrorist designation from getting politicized.

“We would like to think there are enough standards or safety provided for not just in the Anti-Terrorism Act of 2020 but also under the Anti-Terrorism Financing Prevention and Suppression Act,” Sugay said.

In two separate resolutions, the ATC has identified 29 ranking officials and members of the Communist Party of the Philippines (CPP), New People’s Army (NPA ) and Islamic groups as terrorists under the controversial Anti-Terrorism Act of 2020 (ATA).

Their designation as terrorists is contained in ATC Resolution Nos. 16 and 17 dated February 24, 2021 and April 17, 2021, respectively, and was signed by National Security Adviser Hermogenes Esperon Jr., vice chairperson of the ATC.

In Resolution No. 17, the ATC identified 19 ranking officials and members of the CPP/NPA, including Jose Ma. Sison, who is the founder of the party.

Also tagged as terrorists were National Democratic Front peace consultants Vicente Ladlad, Adelberto Silva, Rafael Baylosis, Wilma Tiamzon and Benito Tiamzon.

According to the resolution, the ATC found probable cause, as defined in the anti-terrorism law, that the CPP leaders and consultants have violated Sections 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 of the ATA, “for planning, preparing, facilitating, conspiring, and inciting the commission of terrorism and recruitment to and membership in a terrorist organization or a group organized for the purpose of engaging in terrorism.”

On the other hand, Resolution No. 16 tagged 10 Abu Sayyaf Group (ASG) leaders and members as terrorists. Esmael Abdulmalik, an Islamic State (IS) hardliner connected with the Dawlah Islamiyah (DI), was on top of the list.

Also tagged as terrorists are nine other individuals affiliated with either the DI, ASG or the Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighters. They are Raden Abu, Esmael Abubakar, Muhiddin Animbang, Salahuddin Hassan, Radzmil Jannatul, Majan Sahidjuan, Faharudin Bonito Hadji Satar, Mudsrimar Sawadjaan, and Almujer Yadah.