DOH: 47 Delta variant cases in 9 NCR cities

August 4, 2021 People's Tonight 169 views

A TOTAL of 47 Delta variant cases have been recorded in nine cities in the National Capital Region (NCR), the Department of Health (DOH) said Wednesday.

In a message to reporters, the DOH noted that Caloocan has four Delta variant cases; Las Piñas, 14; Makati, three; Malabon, four; Mandaluyong, two; Pasig, six; San Juan, two; Valenzuela, one; and Manila, 11.

“This data is vetted by our Epidemiology Bureau,” it said.

On Tuesday, Health Undersecretary Maria Rosario Vergeire said nine out of 17 local government units in NCR have at least one patient infected with the Delta variant of coronavirus as of August 1.

The DOH flagged the NCR, Central Visayas, Ilocos Region, Cagayan Valley, Cordillera Administrative Region, and Northern Mindanao for having a high-risk classification based on its moderate two-week growth rate and high-risk average daily attack rate.

So far, the country’s total number of Delta cases is 216 – 165 are local cases, 48 are returning overseas Filipinos (ROFs) while three are undergoing verification to determine if these are local cases or ROFs. Philippine News Agency