Cruz Kheith Rhynne Cruz of Joola Philippines displays her trophy shortly after winning the women’s singles event in the 10th Flexible Cup table tennis championships at Robinsons Novaliches.

Cruz captures women’s singles crown in Flexible Cup

January 30, 2023 Ed Andaya 1051 views
POC Chairman Steve Hontiveros and TATAND Honorary president Charlie Lim with foreign guests Deddy de Costa (Indonesia), TATAND vice-president Richmond Ong, Hari Polemono (Indonesia), Ling Ting Jik (Malaysia) and Andy Lau (Sngapore).

WORLD Table Tennis Youth quarterfinalist Kheith Rhynne Cruz of Joola Philippines made the country proud by winning top honors in the women’s division in the 10th Flexible Cup international table tennis championships held Jan. 27-29 at the Robinsons Mall in Novaliches.

Cruz, who made history by becoming the country’s youngest representative in the Southeast Asian Games in Vietnam last May, defeated old rival Lee Xin Ni of Malaysia to capture the gold medal in the women’s open singles.

“I’m really very happy sa panalo kong ito. Nakabawi din ako sa kanya,” said Cruz, now the country’s No. 1 player who lost to the same Malaysian opponent in the same tournament in 2019.

Cruz, who turned 16 only last Dec. 30, played almost flawlessly to pull the rug from under her more-experienced Malaysian opponent to the delight of another big weekend crowd in the tournament presented by the Flexible Packaging Products Corp. in cooperation with the Table Tennis Association for National Development and Robinsons Novaliches.

“Sana po magtuloy-tuloy na ang mga panalo ngayong taon,” added Cruz, who lost to Kim Seongjin of South Korea, 1-3 (11-7, 10-12, 10-12, 6-11) in the girls’ 19-under singles quarterfinals in the WTT Youth Contender tournament in Bangkok, Thailand last September.

Cruz’s Joola Philippines teammate, Rose Jean Fadol, finished third, along with Angel Joyce Laude of De la Salle University in the women’s singles.

Cruz, Fadol, John Russel Misal, Joshua Manlapaz and TATAND honorary president Charlie Lim also powered Joola Philippines to third place in the team event behind Indonesia and Singapore.

Also finishing third in the team competition is University of Santo Tomas-1 of John Michael Castro, AlvinMenard Sevilla, Eljey Dan tormis and John Dayl Que.

Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) Chairman Steve Hontiveros attended the opening ceremony last Saturday.

Lim, TATAND vice ptesident Philip Uy and tournament director Julius Esposo awarded the trophies and przies to the winners.

Official results:

Team Open

Champion — Xiom Indonesia (Luki Purkani, Zahru Nailufar, Gusti Syaful, Yon Mardiyono).
First runner up — Sunsports Red Singapore (Josh Chua, Yin Jing Yuan, Tay Jit Kiat).
Second runner up — UST-1 (John Michael Castro, Alvin Menard Sevilla, Eljey Dan Tormjis, John Dayl Que).
Second runner up — Joola Philippines (Charlie Lim, John Russel Misal, Kheith Rhynne Cruz, Joshua Manlapaz,Rose Jean Fadol).

Men’s Singles Open

Champion –Dewa Prasetia (Toto Pol-Chawi Fishing PHI-MAS-INI)
First runner up — Zahru Nailufar Xiom Indonesia)
Second runner up — Yin Jing Yuan (Sunsports Singapore)
Second runner up — Yon Mardiyono (Xiom Indonesia)

Women’s Songles Open

Champion — Kheith Rhynne Cruz (Joola Philippines)
First runner up– Lee Xin Ni (Gold Medal Malaysia)
Second runner up– Rose Jean Fadol (Joola Philippines)
Second runner up– Angel Joyce Laude (DLSU)

Veteran Singles 45A

Champion — Rodel Valle (Golden Star)
First runnerup — Lauro Crisostomo (DLSU)
Second runner up — Philip Uy (Golden Star)
Second runner up: Michael; Dalumpines (Golden Star)


Champion–Engr Jonathan Zaragosa (Semicon)
First runner up — Marcos De Jesus (Golden Star)
Second runner up– Steven Rong (MSP)
Second runner up — Hari Poernomo (Xiom Indonesia).