Gandler Vanie Gandler and the rest of Cignal crew are determined to secure the remaining semis slot in the PVL 2nd All-Filipino Conference. PVL photo

Cool Smashers gun for sweep

December 4, 2023 Theodore P. Jurado 239 views

CREAMLINE tries to complete a 11-match sweep of eliminations, while Cignal seeks to formalize its entry to the semifinals today in the Premier Volleyball League Second All-Filipino Conference.

The Cool Smashers are determined to carry the winning feeling in the Final Four, as they try to close out the preliminary round unbeaten in the 4 p.m. clash with Galeries Tower.

Coming off a 10-day break, the HD Spikers are expected to go all-out and nab the remaining semis slot as they play winless Gerflor at 2 p.m.

A Cignal win will render the PLDT-PetroGazz duel at 6 p.m. no bearing.

Coach Shaq delos Santos has recognized his HD Spikers’ hard work as they march on in the season-ending conference.

“Alam ko kung gaano nila pinaghirapan yung naging training namin,” said Delos Santos after Cignal trampled Nxled, 25-17, 25-14, 25-14, last Nov. 25.

“Good thing nabawi namin and we were very thankful (sa panalo). Isa na lang yung kailangan namin para sure na kami sa semis,” he added.

Sporting a 7-3 record, Cignal hopes to join Creamline (10-0), Choco Mucho (10-1) and Chery Tiggo (8-3) in the semifinals.

A Defenders reversal of the HD Spikers will give the High Speed Hitters and the Angels, both tied at 7-4, a chance of making it to the next round via the second tiebreaker which is the set ratio. The winner of the PLDT-PetroGazz contest – by at least three or four sets – will match Cignal’s 22 points.

A five-set result between the High Speed Hitters and the Angels will hand the HD Spikers the last spot.

A Cignal win will secure itself of a No. 3 ranking, as the HD Spikers will play second-ranked Flying Titans in the best-of-three semis, with the top-ranked Cool Smashers and No. 4 Crossovers battling it out in the other pairing beginning on Thursday.

The winners will dispute the championship in another best-of-three playoff.