Default Thumbnail

Comelec suspends voter registration in Cavite 7th district

December 8, 2022 Dennis Abrina 792 views

TRECE MARTIRES CITY, Cavite – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) suspended the voter registration in the Cavite 7th district on Wednesday, December 7, 2022, to pave the way for the special election on February 25, 2023, under Resolution No. 10848, dated October 5, 2022.

Based on the press statement released by the poll body, voter registration is only suspended in the towns of Amadeo, Indang, Tanza, and Trece Martires City from November 25, 2022 until February 24, 2023.

While the six cities and 13 towns or remaining districts of Comelec Cavite offices will reopen for those who wish to register from December 12, 2022 to January 31, 2023. Monday to Saturday. (Except December 24 and 31, 2022)

This also includes those who want to do transfers, reactivations, and corrections of entries.

The Comelec offices of Kawit, Noveleta, Rosario, Cavite City, Bacoor, Imus, Dasmariñas, General Mariano Alvarez (GMA), Carmona, Silang, General Trias, Tagaytay, Mendez, Alfonso, Bailen, Magallanes, Maragondon, Naic, and Ternate are open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m in preparation for the October 23, 2023 Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan elections (BSKE).

While all registered voters of the municipalities of Amadeo, Indang, Tanza, and Trece Martires City, will be participating in the electoral exercise, which is being held because of the existence of a vacancy of the post of representative for the said legislative district as certified by the House of Representatives in its House Resolution No. 100 dated July 27, 2022.

This is because of the appointment and assumption to office of former Representative Jesus Crispin C. Remulla as Secretary of Justice, subsequent to his election last May 9 national and local elections.

According to Atty. Mico Morale -Castro, Cavite Provincial Election Supervisor (PES), during the December 5-6, 2022 period for the filing of certificates of candidacy or COCs, four aspirants have filed their intention to run.

The candidates vying for Cavite’s 7th district seat are Jose Angelito Domingo Aguinaldo (Independent), former Trece Martires City Mayor Melencio Loyola De Sagun, Jr. (Independent), incumbent Cavite 7th District Board Member Crispin Diego “Pinggoy” Diaz Remulla of National Unity Party (NUP), and Michael Angelo Bautista Santos (Independent).

Similar to the May 9 elections, the voting, counting, and canvassing of votes will be via the automated elections system, using the vote-counting machines (VCMs) and the consolidation and canvassing system or CCS.

Pursuant to Section 8 of Republic Act No. 8189, no registration of voters in the said areas is allowed to be conducted during the period starting 120 days before a regular election and 90 days before a special election.