Malvar Reelectionist Edwin Malvar of Lakas-CMD and BBM-Sara UniTeam was officially proclaimed as the elected 2nd District Board Member of Cavite. Photo by Dennis Abrina

Cavite polls ‘peaceful’

May 12, 2022 Dennis Abrina 264 views

TRECE MARTIRES CITY, Cavite – The recently concluded local elections in the province of Cavite has been “peaceful” with several local bets being proclaimed.

“Tapos na po tayo sa Cavite 2022 election here in the entire Cavite province is generally peaceful; fast, secure, accurate, free and fair elections,” according to Provincial Election Supervisor Attorney Patrick Enaje in an interview with this correspondent.

Atty. Enaje said this after they finished announcing all the winning Cavite board members and congressional posts of the province’s 8th legislative district on May 10, 2022, in the session hall of the Sangguniang Panglalawigan at the Capitol grounds.

16 Board members have been proclaimed in eight districts of the province along with the winning eight congressmen, governor, and vice governor by the Provincial Board of Canvassers (PBOCs) led by Atty. Enaje, Prosecutor Vivian Monzon Rojo, and Dr. Rommel Bautista of Provincial DepEd (Department of Education).

Proclaimed poll winners were Davey Chua and Rommel Enriquez (1st District), Ramboy Revilla, and Edwin Malvar of 2nd District-Bacoor, Ony Cantimbuhan and Shernan Jaro of Imus District, Nickol Austria and Jun Dela Cuesta of Dasmariñas City District, Aidel Belamide and Marcus Amutan of 5th District, Morit Sison and Kerby Salazar of General Trias District, Pinag Remulla and Munding Del Rosario of 7th Legislative District, and Rainer Ambion and Irene Bencito of 8th District.

Outgoing Cavite Vice Governor and Congressman-elect Ramon “Jolo” Revilla III of 1st District, outgoing Bacoor City Mayor and Congresswoman-elect Lani Mercado-Revilla, Congressman-elect Adrian Jay “AJ” Advincula of Imus, reelected Cong. Elpidio Barzaga of Dasmariñas City, comebacking Congressman Roy Loyola of 5th District, Congressman-elect Antonio Ferrer of 6th District of General Trias City, reelected Cong. Boying Remulla of the 7th District, and newbie Congresswoman Aniela Tolentino of the 8th District of the province have also been proclaimed.

“If we will compute the numbers of problems on our voter-counting machine (VCMs) as to the numbers of VCMs we had, maliit na portion lang po ito, kaya nga lang siyempre mainit, mabilis ang broadcast ng social media, kaya na-highlight lang ng husto,” Atty. Enaje said.

“Nakita niyo naman po, hindi na umabot ng overnight, tapos na ang halalan dito sa Cavite,” Atty. Enaje added.

The PBOCs also cited the 23 city and municipal boards of canvassers for their quick and orderly elections.

Cavite recorded a 1.615 million or 70.20% of the province’s total voters of 2,302,353 who voted last May 9.

Reelected Governor Jonvic Remulla was proclaimed for his second term and the province’s first female Vice Governor-elect Athena Tolentino on the same day. By Dennis Abrina