BI to implement extended travel ban on 7 countries

June 1, 2021 Itchie G. Cabayan 215 views

THE Bureau of Immigration (BI) will be implementing the extended travel ban on travelers coming from seven countries due to emerging COVID-19 variants.

In an advisory, the BI stated that passengers coming from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman and UAE are still not allowed to enter until June 15, following the pronouncement of the Palace.

“Those who have a travel history from said countries within the last 14 days from the date of their arrival in the Philippines, will also be prohibited from entering the country,” said Morente. “However, those who will only be transiting in the region—meaning they will not exit the airport and will not be cleared by immigration authorities there, and will only be landing for a layover, may be allowed to enter the Philippines,” the BI added.

BI Port Operations Division (POD) Chief Atty. Carlos Capulong reiterated that foreign nationals entering the country for tourism purposes are still not allowed.

“Only Filipinos, Balikbayans, and foreign nationals with valid and existing visas who are not coming from the 7 restricted countries may be allowed to enter the Philippines,” said Capulong.

“Those who will be entering under a 9(a) Temporary Visitors’ Visa or a Special Resident Retirees Visa would need to present an entry exemption document to be allowed to enter,” he added.