BI extends travel ban on 7 countries

June 15, 2021 Willy M. Balasa 162 views

THE Bureau of Immigration (BI) announced they will be implementing an order from Malacañang extending the arrival ban on seven countries until June 30.

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente the ban on arriving passengers from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, and Oman will be until the end of June.

“Those with a travel history from these countries within the last 14 days before arrival are also temporarily banned from entering,” he added.

Morente clarified that transiting passengers, or those who did not exit the airport or were cleared by immigration in said countries are not covered by the said ban.

“They are not considered to have been admitted in a country if they are there for a mere layover,” he clarified.

BI Port Operations Division Chief Atty. Carlos Capulong said existing travel restrictions remain in place.

“Our immigration officers are on stand-by and ready to service arriving repatriation flights with our kababayan from these 7 countries,” he said.

Apart from the travel ban on 7 countries, the country has imposed a restriction on arriving tourists.

“Arriving foreign tourists are not yet allowed, unless authorized by the Department of Foreign Affairs through the country’s foreign posts abroad,” said Capulong.

“If approved, they would be issued their entry visas and entry exemption documents, which they will present to immigration upon arrival,” he added.

Capulong reminded the public that despite prior approval by the foreign posts, arriving aliens would still undergo regular immigration procedures.