BBM inaugural speech inspiring

June 30, 2022 Mario Fetalino Jr. 2591 views

Mario FetalinoPRESIDENT Ferdinand ‘BongBong’ Marcos Jr. gave a very inspiring speech during his inauguration at the National Musuem in Manila yesterday.

Marcos rallied all Filipinos to unite so the Philippines can achieve more progress.

Demonstrating full confidence, the son of former President Ferdinand Marcos Sr. vowed to make decisions with gratitude for the Filipinos in mind.

Good luck to BBM and to the new leaders who will help him deliver his promise to the nation.

Meanwhile, Marcos also lauded his predecessor — former President Rodrigo Duterte — for a job well done in his six years of governing the country.

Duterte will have the distinction of being the only President who has the highest satisfaction rating among those who occupied the highest position in the land at the end of their six-year term.

This was evident in the non-commissioned Pulso ng Pilipino survey conducted by the Issues and Advocacy Center (The CENTER) which measured the public’s satisfaction rating of the President, the Vice President, the Senate President and the 23 sitting Senators.

The survey was conducted by The Center from June 6 to 15, 2022 which covered some 1,200 respondents nationwide.

The CENTER also explained that the survey did not cover the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court since the awareness rating of Chief Justice Alexander Gesmundo and House Speaker

Lord Allan Velasco is on the low side. In fact, most of the respondents do not even know who the Speaker of the Lower House is and the same is true of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

The question that was fielded to the respondents with ages ranging from 18 to 65 years old and above was: “President Rodrigo Roa Duterte will end his six-year term on June 30, 2022. My question is over the past six years, are you SATISFIED or NOT SATISFIED with the overall performance of the President.”

Of the 1,200 respondents, 990 or 82% of the respondents said they are SATISFIED with President Duterte’s governance while 177 or 14% said they are NOT SATISFIED and 33 or .02% did not given any answer. (See Table 1)

The same question was asked of the public’s perception of Vice President Leni Gerona Robredo and of the 1,200 respondents, 905 respondents or 75% said they were SATISFIED with the performance of Vice President Robredo. Some 248 or 20% said they are NOT SATISFIED while 47 or .03% did not respond.

At the same time, some 975 respondents or 81% said are SATISFIED with the Senate President while only 189 or 15% said they are NOT SATISFIED with the Sotto’s performance. Some 36 or .03% did not give any answer.

The President, Vice President, Senate President all have an awareness rating of 100% while Speaker Lord Allan Velasco and Chief Justice Alexander Gesmundo are known to only 43% and 38% of the respondents, respectively and it would be difficult to generate an fairly accurate reading of the public’s perception of these two officials with such an awareness rating.

The CENTER also measured the satisfaction rating of the 24 members of the 18th Philippine Senate and this is how satisfied the Filipino public are with their performance. Senators Tito Sotto (81%), Grace Poe (79%), Panfilo Lacson (78%), Juan Miguel Zubiri (75%), Francis Tolentino (75%), and Frank Drilon (72%).

The other Senators and their satisfaction rating are as follows: Senators Risa Hontiveros (67%), Kiko Pangilinan (63%), Sherwin Gatchalian (63%), Cynthia Villar (61%), Ralph Recto (58%), Imee Marcos (58%), Nancy Binay (53%), Joel Villanueva (53%), Sonny Angara (49%). Dick Gordon (49%), Pia Cayetano (49%), Koko Pimentel (43%), Manny Pacquiao (41%), Bong Go (41%), Bato dela Rosa (41%), Bong Revilla (38%), Lito Lapid (34%) and Leila de Lima (29%).

Sotto, Lacson, Pangilinan and Pacquiao ran and lost in the recent national elections for a higher position. Gordon and De Lima both ran for the same position and also lost. Senators Drilon and Recto are ending their respective terms having served in the 17th and 18th Congress. Senators Migz Zubiri, Sherwin Gatchalian, Joel Villanueva, Risa Hontiveros were reelected.

Zubiri, the current Senate Majority Floor Leader is expected to get elected by his peers as Senate President. Pimentel will take over from Drilon as Senate Minority Floor Leader while Tolentino has been offered the chairmanship of the Senate Blue Ribbon Committee.


For comments please call or text 09569012811 or email: