Bacolod, Mindoro open campaign in MPBL

May 2, 2022 People's Tonight 310 views

BACOLOD and Mindoro make their initial appearance in the fourth season of the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League (MPBL) when they tangle with Valenzuela and Imus, respectively, at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

The Bacolod Ballers will be led by veteran Mark Yee while the Mindoro Tamaraws will draw firepower from former Ginebra guard Tey Teodoro as they try to prove their mettle against Valenzuela City and Imus, which both dropped their games in Monday’s inaugurals in Batangas City.

The Mindoro-Valenzuela tussle is set at 6:30 p.m. while the Bacolod-Imus encounter is set at 9 p.m.

Yee, the Finals MVP of the MPBL Lakan Season, will be supported by gunner Alwin Alday, Jerome Garcia, Jayboy Solis, Edrian Lao, Richard Albo, John Kalo Casino and homegrown Joel Lee-Yu.

Teodoro, on the other hand, will be backstopped by homegrown Rodel Vaygan and recreational leagues star Christian Palma.

Both Bacolod and Mindoro are given good chances of besting Valenzuela, which yielded to Sarangani, 73-77, and Imus, which bowed to Batangas City Embassy Chill, 76-56.

The Bacolod Ballers, mentored by Alex Angeles, is backed by Bingo Plus.

…Apart from Teodoro, MPBL All-Star Vaygan and Palma, Mindoro coach Andrei Arse will have local finds Aga Bernal, Khen Osicos and Marvin Tagunicar and varsity players Mark Cyrus Cuenco, Rey Christian Domingo, Gabriel Angelo Gomez and Dominic Panlilio, who have been issued special guest licenses by the Games and Amusements Board, at his disposal.

Valenzuela, supported by MJAS Zenith, hopes to bounce back through Patrick Cabahug, Jaymar Gimpayan, Brylle Ivan Maca, Felix Apreku, Jess Quilatan and Andrey Armenion.

Imus will lean on homegrown star Ian Melencio, Encho Serrano, Allan Mangahas, Leo Najorda, Jacob Galicia and Adrian Celada.

The MPBL will continue on Tuesday, May 3 with another doubleheader at the Paco Arena.

The games will pit Makati against Valenzuela at 6:30 p.m. and Marikina against Manila at 9 p.m.