Antipolo, Laguna chessers in twin kill

June 1, 2021 Ed Andaya 744 views

ANTIPOLO Cobras continued their impressive performance by completing back-to-back victories over Isabela Knight Raiders and Cavite Spartans in the 2021 PCAP-GM Wesley So Cup chess championships over the weekend.

David Elorta, Sherwin Tiu, Christy Lamiel Bernales, IM Ronny Gunawan, Sonny de la Rosa, USNM Rodolfo Panopio Jr. and USNM Jose Aquino Jr. carried the fight for the Cobras of businessman-sportsman Binky Gaticales.

After dropping their first-round match against San Juan Predators (6-15), the Cobras came back strong to win seven of their next eight assigments.

Antipolo also won over Quezon City Simba’s Tribe (15-6), Rizal Towers (15-6), Olongapo Rainbow (16.5-4.5), Pasig Pirates (15.5-5.5), and All-Filipino champion Laguna Heroes (11-10),

The only other defeat of Antipolo came at the hands of Manila Indios Bravos (9.5-11.5) last May 26.

Equally impressive was Laguna, which swept Cavite, 17-4, and Caloocan Load Manna Knights, 13.6-7.5, to improve to 6-3.

Two-time Battle of GMs champion Rogelio Barcenilla, Jr. , GM Kirill Shevchenko and GM John Paul Gomez struck hardest for the Heroes in their keenly-awaited match against the Load Manna Knights.

Barcenilla overwhelmed World Cup-bound IM Paolo Bersamina, Shevchenko crushed IM Jan Emmanuel Garcia and Gomez whipped Rosauro Caunti to lead the Heroes of PECA president Dr. Fred Paez.

The presitigious 24-team tournament is organized by the Professional Chess Association of the Philippines (PCAP), headed by Atty. Paul Elauria asPresident- Commissioner; Michael Angelo Chua, Chairman, and Ariel Potot, Vice-Chairman.

Games June 2:

Round 10
North — Cagayan vs. Antipolo, Caloocan vs. Cavite, San Juan vs. Isabela, Laguna vs. Rizal, Quezon City vs. Manila, Pasig vs. Olongapo.
South — Cordova vs. Camarines, Cebu vs. Iloilo, Zambonga vs. Iriga, Lapu-Lapu vs. Toledo, Surigao vs. Mindoro, Palawan vs. Negros.

Round 11
North — Antipolo vs. Caloocan, Cagayan vs. San Juan, Cavite vs. Rizal, Isabela vs. Quezon City, Laguna vs. Pasig, Manila vs. Olongapo
South — Camarines vs. Cebu, Cordova vs. Zamboanga, Iloilo vs. Toledo, Iriga vs. Surigao, Lapu-Lapu vs. Palawan, Mindoro vs. Negros.