5 new PNP generals sworn in

March 1, 2024 Alfred P. Dalizon 307 views

FIVE new Philippine National Police star-rank officers promoted by President Ferdinand ‘Bongbong’ R. Marcos Jr. on Friday took their oath of office at Camp Crame.

The five new Police Brigadier Generals are Rolly Octavio, Rogelio Raymundo, Bernard Yang, Porfirio Calagan and Florendo Gerdan.

The promotion of the five was approved by President Marcos following a recommendation from the National Police Commission chaired by Department of Interior and Local Government Secretary Benjamin C. Abalos Jr. and PNP chief, General Benjamin C. Acorda Jr.

In behalf of Gen. Acorda, PNP Deputy Chief for Administration, Lieutenant Gen. Emmanuel B. Peralta and PNP The Chief Directorial Staff, Lt. Gen. Jon A. Arnaldo led the oath-taking and donning of ranks of the new police 1-star generals at the PNP Multi-Purpose Center.

Brig. Gen. Octavio, a member of PNP Academy ‘Tagapaglunsad’ Class of 1993 is the Chief Regional Staff of the National Capital Region Police Office.

Both Brig. Gen. Raymundo and Brig. Gen. Yang are members of PNPA

‘Patnubay’ Class of 1995. Raymundo is the Deputy Regional Director for Administration of the Police Regional Office 12 in Soccsksaregen region while Yang is the Senior Police Assistant of the DILG Secretary.

Brig. Gen. Calagan, a product of PNPA ‘Kaagapay’ Class of 1996 is the Executive Officer of the PNP Directorate for Personnel and Records Management.

Brig. Gen. Gerdan wrote history when he became the 1st technical officer—he was already an engineer when he joined the PNP Engineering Service as a Police Officer 1 in 1999 and went on to become the PNP-ES director in October last year.

Gen. Acorda earlier ensured that technical officers will be the ones designated as directors of technical services like the PNP-ES. In the past, the designation of Line Officers as head of different technical services in the force triggered demoralization in the ranks of technical officers in the organization.