4 more solons join Lakas

July 19, 2022 Ryan Ponce Pacpaco 462 views
Leyte 1st District Rep. Martin Romualdez (first photo,left) swears in new Lakas-CMD members (from R) Davao City 2nd District Rep. Vincent Garcia, Davao Del Norte 2nd District Rep. Alan Dujali and Davao City 3rd District Rep. Isidro Ungab as well as Camarines Norte 1st District Rep. Josefina Tallado (2nd photo, right) and Maguindanao 1st District Rep. Dimple Mastura (2nd right) during separate oath-taking rites at the Lakas-CMD headquarters which were witnessed by Vice President and DepEd Secretary Sara Duterte Photos by VER NOVENO

FOUR more House members on Tuesday afternoon joined the Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD), bringing the party’s total membership in the larger chamber of Congress to 64.

Lakas-CMD, which supported and campaigned hard for President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. and Vice President Sara Duterte, is now one of the largest political groups in the legislature and in the country.

The new members are Reps. Isidro Ungab and Vincent Garcia of the third and second districts of Davao City, respectively; Alan Dujali of Davao del Norte’s second district, and Josefina Tallado of Camarines Norte’s first district.

Maguindanao Rep. Dimple Mastura who earlier joined Lakas-CMD also formalized her oath Tuesday.

Ungab, Garcia, Dujali, Tallado and Mastura took their respective oaths in a simple ceremony in Manila before Leyte 1st District Rep. Martin G. Romualdez, Lakas-CMD president. Their oath-taking was witnessed by Vice President Duterte, the party’s co-chairperson.

At the same event, former Surigao del Norte Gov. Francisco Matugas, Burgos Mayor Angie Arcena, Dapa Mayor Elizabeth Matugas, Del Carmen Mayor Alfredo Coro II, General Luna Mayor Sol Matugas, Mainit Mayor Crisanta Mondano, Pilar Mayor Maria Liza Resurreccion, San Benito Mayor Gina Menil, San Isidro Mayor Lamberto Domiños Jr., Santa Monica Mayor Arwela Dolar, and Socorro Mayor Reizl Timcang of Surigao del Norte province were sworn in as new members of Lakas-CMD by Romualdez.

Romualdez said he and other party leaders are happy to welcome their new members.

“We await with great expectations opportunities for engaging and bonding with them and the rest of our membership. We hope they will have an enjoyable and fruitful engagement with us,” Romualdez said.

He reiterated that Lakas-CMD “will 100 percent support the legislative and unity agenda of President Bongbong Marcos Jr.”

Ungab once served as chairman of the House committee on appropriations, the panel that scrutinizes the annual national budget.

Romualdez served as House Majority Leader in the last Congress.

Last week, several lawmakers joined the party, including Representatives Joey Sarte Salceda of Albay, Rachel Arenas of Pangasinan, Paul Ian Dy of Isabela, Maria Vanessa Aumentao of Bohol, and Claude Bautista of Davao Occidental, who is president of Hugpong ng Pagbabago (HNP), the regional party founded by Duterte.