November 29, 2023 Jester P. Manalastas 122 views

THREE lawmakers, who were former members of the erstwhile ruling Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban), have joined the Lakas-Christian-Muslim Democrats (CMD), bringing the party’s strength in the House of Representatives to 89.

Speaker Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez, president of Lakas-CMD, administered the oath to Reps. Richard Kho, Olga Kho, and Wilton Kho of Masbate’s 1st, 2nd, and 3rd District, respectively.

They were joined by 17 town mayors and a municipal vice mayor as new party members.

“We are elated to welcome our colleagues and local officials, who, we believe, share our deep commitment to help our beloved President, Ferdinand Marcos Jr., further grow our economy, create more income and job opportunities, and make food products accessible and affordable. In sum, to make life generally better for our people,” Romualdez said.

“We thank them and our local officials for joining Lakas-CMD,” he said.

Mayor Kristine Salve Kho of Mandaon, Masbate also took her oath alongside the province’s lawmakers as a new member of the party.

The affiliation of the Khos followed with the swearing into Lakas-CMD in the last 20 days of 10 former PDP-Laban officials and members, namely Senior Deputy Speaker and Pampanga Rep. Aurelio “Dong” D. Gonzales Jr., Pampanga Rep. Carmelo “Jon” B. Lazatin II, Siquijor Rep. Zaldy S. Villa, Parañaque City 1st District Rep. Edwin L. Olivares, Pasay City Lone District Rep. Antonino G. Calixto, Zamboanga del Norte 2nd District Rep. Glona G. Labadlabad, Cebu 2nd District Rep. Eduardo Roa Rama Jr., Camarines Norte, 2nd District Rep. Rosemarie Conejos Panotes, Agusan del Norte 2nd District Rep. Dale B. Corvera, and Caloocan City 2nd District Rep. Mary Mitzi Cajayon-Uy.

Nueva Ecija 1st District Rep. Mikaela Angela Suansing and Cagayan de Oro City 1st District Rep. Lordan G. Suan had also joined the Lakas-CMD. They were former members of the Nacionalista Party (NP).

Fifteen of the 16 town mayors who decided to affiliate with the Lakas-CMD are from Aklan. They are Charit Navarosa of Libacao, Rex Gubatina of Madalag, Noel Redison of Banga, Denny Refol Sr. of Altavas, Jeseryl Templonuevo of Numancia, Gary Fuentes of Tangalan, Jose Miguel Miraflores of Ibajay, Ma. Fe Lasaleta of Nabas, Froilan Bautista of Malay, Concepcion Labindao of Buruanga, Jessica Panambo of New Washington, Lenette Fernandez of Lezo, Josephine Equiña of Malinao, Dexter Calizo of Balete, and Juris Sucro of Kalibo.

Aklan is composed of 17 towns. Gov. Jose Enrique Miraflores is a Lakas-CMD member.

Mayor Oscarlito Hernandez of San Luis Batangas and Vice Mayor Angelita Castillo of San Pascual, Batangas, along with Councilor Hazzel Bulanhagui of the same town and Councilor Patricia Nicole Abrahan of Bauan, Batangas, also joined the Lakas-CMD.