28 politicians join Lakas bandwagon

November 18, 2021 Jester P. Manalastas 144 views

AS the 2022 national elections draw near, some 28 politicians jumped to Lakas-CMD bandwagon after Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio joined and accepted the chairmanship of the party.

Lakas president and Majority Leader Martin Romualdez yesterday administered the oath of 28 new Lakas-CMD members from Quezon City led by Rep. Precious Castelo, former Reps. Bingbong Crisologo (6th District) and Nanette Daza (4th District) and actor Bobby Andrews (running for councilor).

“These leaders are the potent force and future of Quezon City. We continue to embrace those who are committed to help us in our main mission to serve the people and further boost the winning chances of Mayor Sara Duterte,” Romualdez said.

“As the party gears to strengthen its ranks for the upcoming 2022 national and local elections, we are united to fulfill one goal: to lead our nation compassionately, efficiently and competently,” Romualdez added.

Meanwhile, Malayang Quezon City mayoralty candidate Anakalusugan Party-list Rep. Mike Defensor is a close ally of Lakas-CMD.

Other notable Quezon City Lakas-CMD leaders are Rep. Anthony Peter “Onyx” Crisologo, chairman of the Lakas-National Capital Region; vice mayoralty candidate Councilor Winnie Castelo, and District 1 councilor Nikki Crisologo.

Romualdez was assisted by Lakas-CMD executive vice president and Pampanga Rep. Juan Miguel “Mikey” Arroyo and Deputy secretary general and Zamboanga Sibugay Rep. Wilter “Sharky” Wee Palma II in the physical oath-taking of new Lakas-CMD members.

Congresswoman Castelo, who was personally sworn into the party by Romualdez, is the wife of Councilor Castelo and a former member of the Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC).

Congressional aspirants Marvin D. Rillo (4th District), and Bingbong Crisologo (6th District) took their oath as Lakas-CMD members.

Some of the candidates for Quezon City councilors who also joined Lakas-CMD are Lorraine M. Carandang, Eldridge P. De Castro, John I. Nieto, and Bong C. Vinzons, of 1st District; comedian Roderick Paulate, Martin Leachon and Kurt Castelo Nocum, of 2nd District; Andrews, Daza, and Imee Rillo, of 4th District; Ali Forbes, Jaja Mantele, Karl John B. Paguio, Luis. Saludes, Ricky Mathay, and Jemboy Castelo, of 6th District, and others.

“We thank them for trusting the Lakas-CMD,” Romualdez said as he was honored that the party already had two presidents — Fidel V. Ramos and Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.